This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Confusing, bewildering and frustrating"

About: Bristol Royal Infirmary

What I liked

I only came to the BRI following a referral from my GP for a snapping right hip, so I don't really have a comment on anything I liked.

What could be improved

What could have been improved was the communication between the consultant I saw (he also had a student doctor with him) and myself.

I was waiting to be seen in the examination room and they were both in a room next door in which they were observing my recent x ray results.

With my own two ears I heard the student doctor (and I knew it was the student doctor who said this as she was female) that my hip joint looked particularly deep.

When they both came out neither of them made any mention of the fact that this finding came about and so the consultant I saw instead stated that everything seemed fine.

I don't understand why they observed or came across a potential abnormality yet decide to say nothing about it.

As a result of this, my care has been put back so much that I've only just had my iliopsoas tendon released yet I'm still getting the clicking within that area. I know I'm at an age where I shouldn't be getting problems like this and that I'm very fit but what's going to happen with me in the long-run now?

Anything else?

I wouldn't go back there unless more was done about the communication between consultants and patients logo


Response from Bristol Royal Infirmary 10 years ago
Bristol Royal Infirmary
Submitted on 06/07/2011 at 12:20
Published on on 07/07/2011 at 04:00

Thank you for taking the time to comment and we are sorry you did not have a positive experience of our service. Wherever possible we would encourage patients to raise concerns and ask questions directly to their doctor during their appointment, as often these things can best be dealt at that point. However, we appreciate that this isn't always possible and that sometimes it is only after reflecting on the appointment that these issues become apparent. In order for us to look into this matter further and provide you with a full response, we would ask that you contact our Patient Support and Complaints Service on 0117 342 3604 or email Thank you again for your feedback.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k