This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?


About: Stepping Hill Hospital

What I liked

the care givern by the nurses and doctors

What could be improved

i was admitted at a 11 oclock in the morning onto the assessment ward on referral by my gp. I didnt have a bed until 7pm nearly. Also a huge improvement would be for nurses on day shift to speak to nurse on night shift and so forth. Also to be kept involved straight away when a decision is made, like reviewing my blood results and being advised i need to stay in.

Anything else?

I was not happy when receiving my bed to go to read my notes at the end of my bed to find out they were for someone else. The nurses werent aware until i made them when they were giving medication. i had to advise them. .

The nurses themselves where excellent, if i new some of their names i would write to compliment how caring they are.

Also lack of communication is an issue. i was told by the doctor and 2 nurses i would be having a scan next day and they would probably not allow me to eat

Once morning came i was asked if i wanted breakfast. when i explained about the scan they told me their was no date set. Then they said would discuss with the doctor. In this time i had seen3 different doctors. They came back and advised that a scan had been requested for during the day but no name had been put down.

These are simple mistakes which should have really been avoided. if i had been too unwell to be cohearant i wonder how long i would have been in unneccessarily.

Other than that the ward was clean, staff were friendly and caring.

I also listening to them think they should be allowed more rotational weekends off. 12 hour shifts are long days logo


Response from Stepping Hill Hospital 10 years ago
Stepping Hill Hospital
Submitted on 23/08/2011 at 09:29
Published on on 24/08/2011 at 04:00

Thank you for sharing feedback of your experience with us. I am sorry to learn of the issues that arose whilst you were a patient at this hospital and I am very keen to investigate these matters further. However, before I am able to do so I will need you to provide me with some personal information so I am able to locate you on our Patient Administration System and commence the investigation. If this is something you would like to proceed with, please contact a member of the Patient and Customer Services Team directly on 0161 419 5678.

Many thanks once again,

Stacey Devine

Case Officer

Patient and Customer Services

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k