This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?


About: Royal Sussex County Hospital

What I liked

When I left the building !

What could be improved

Everything. It was appalling both the staff and service provided. In particular, one consultant. They were extremely discourteous, dismissive and down right rude. They neither listened to the patient or discussed health concerns with any care or passion. Following such arrogance and belief there was nothing wrong, the patient suddenly died aged 50. They simply hid behind the Chief Executive who was equally dismissive and failed to address issues raised following the death. Furthermore and despite specific instructions for the patient to be closely monitored and transferred the next day to a specialist hospital. This was overlooked for 3 consecutive days despite the instruction being written in red block capital ink ! logo


Response from Royal Sussex County Hospital 10 years ago
Royal Sussex County Hospital
Submitted on 13/06/2011 at 17:51
Published on on 14/06/2011 at 04:00

We are extremely sorry to hear about ths patient's experience at our hospital and encourage you to leave a formal complaint so that we can investigate this further. You can contact our complaints team via email on

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Brighton & Hove LINk 10 years ago
Submitted on 08/08/2011 at 09:22
Published on Care Opinion at 10:38

Sorry to hear about this.

We might be able to help you stop things like this happening again. The Brighton and Hove LINk is a health and adult social care watchdog that works independently of the NHS and the government. We have the power to hold the people at the top to account for issues like this and have a good track record of getting changes made. Although we can’t take on your individual case, if these sorts of problems have happened to other people as well we can take it on as a priority and seek action. All we need is for you to complete a short ‘issues’ form to log this problem with us. Is this something you would like to do?

Contact me on for more information, and have a look at our website to see what other people have been telling us about local services

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k