This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Poor communication, incompetence and..."

About: Trafford General Hospital

What I liked

Not much.

What could be improved

I had an operation, and was therfore without food from the night before. After I came in at 7:30 in the morning, at 2:00pm I still hadn't had my operation although people who came in after me had their operations and were released. Then they said they'd lost my notes.

They wanted me to stay in overnight although this wasn't scheduled and I couldn't as I had an overseas visitor coming to see me that evening. As a result the full operation wasn't done.

I complained and the Consultant said I was being difficult and "trouble maker". The man is so arrogant!

I have since had the operation repeated elsewhere within the Trafford NHS, but need further corrective surgery.

Not been a good experience. logo


Response from Trafford General Hospital 10 years ago
Trafford General Hospital
Submitted on 26/07/2011 at 16:28
Published on on 02/02/2016 at 22:39

We are sorry to read of your disappointing experience, we are always eager to listen to the experiences of our patients in order to improve the services we offer.

In line with your experience, we are currently reviewing admission times, in order to prevent patients who are admitted at 7.30 am waiting all day for their operation or procedure, as you mention.

Due to the amount of surgeries which take place at Trafford, under different surgeons on the same day, it can appear that patients are being seen out of turn, however it is often the case that patients who appear to be seen out of turn are in fact seeing a different surgeon to yourself.

We are sorry to read that your notes were not available at the time.

It is difficult to comment on the attitude of your consultant without discussing specific details with you; however we would like to offer you the opportunity to have your entire experience investigated by our Customer Relations/Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Team in order for your concerns to be addressed.

If you would like to take this opportunity, please contact the team on 0161 746 2019 / 2201 or email, or you can write to the hospital address, and we will be happy to help.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k