"Utterly diabolical!"

About: Royal Sussex County Hospital

What I liked

I liked the health care assistant in renal outpatients, she has consistently been helpful compared to renal nurses. The health care assistant is highly professional and the nurses could learn a thing or two from this lady.

In contrast my nurse refused to get my medication and then complained I was aggressive when she herself behaved badly towards a seriously ill person.

Due to sub-standard care in the renal department i.e. refusal to answer my concerns over the toxic treatment, and then informed me blood kits were faulty via the renal nurse, I have been depressed since Oct 2009. The complaints dept. closed ranks against me and claims I am asking too many questions, but other consultants have advised them I am anxious and worried due to treatment concerns. They have also said that they treated the numbers and not the person. I deserve answers over the faulty blood kits. Nonetheless I was sent a letter with wild generalizations claiming I can't sustain relationships. I have told the ceo that for there to be "sustained" relationships, clinical care needs to be respectful, patient-centered and empathic which has not been the case. . Hence I refuse to accept unfounded claims made against me at a time when in fact I need sustained care which has been cut-off.

Despite the fact that I had a sustained relationship with a renal registrar and a new consultant there, renal clinic has alleged I am somehow faulty. This is very oppressive indeed. This feels like a smoke screen to avoid answering questions over the faulty blood kits and the needless treatment renal clinic gave me. If the complaints dept., was working transparently, it would re-assure me and advisel me not to worry, but they have not which does not look good and they say there is no smoke without fire!

What could be improved

Transparency and not working oppressively

Anything else?

Doctors and nurses need to blow the whistle on poor patient care rather than close ranks against patients like myself who have been frequently damaged. There should be patient alerts in place, but this does not seem to be the case.

Story from nhs.uk


Response from Brighton & Hove LINk 8 years ago
Submitted on 08/08/2011 at 09:35
Published on Care Opinion at 10:38

Sorry to hear about this

We might be able to help you stop things like this happening again. The Brighton and Hove LINk is a health and adult social care watchdog that works independently of the NHS and the government. We have the power to hold the people at the top to account for issues like this and have a good track record of getting changes made. Although we can’t take on your individual case, if these sorts of problems have happened to other people as well we can take it on as a priority and seek action. All we need is for you to complete a short ‘issues’ form to log this problem with us. Is this something you would like to do?

Contact me on community@cvsectorforum.org.uk for more information, and have a look at our website to see what other people have been telling us about local services http://bit.ly/prFDDD

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Royal Sussex County Hospital 8 years ago
Royal Sussex County Hospital
Submitted on 23/08/2011 at 12:59
Published on nhs.uk on 24/08/2011 at 04:00

We are extremely sorry to hear of your experience at our hospital and encourage you to make a formal complaint so that we can investigate this properly (communications@bsuh.nhs.uk). You can also contact the Chief Executive of Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust by writing to him at the following address:

Duncan Selbie - Chief Executive

Brighton and Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust

Trust Headquarters

Eastern Road



  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful