This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"I hope i never have to experience..."

About: Southampton General Hospital

What I liked

Im afraid there was no aspect of my time at the hospital that was pleasant.

What could be improved


My appointment time

Given some where other than the reception area to wait for more than 8 hours

Somebody to have discussed my option prior to the operation day

The attitude and people skills of the anaesthetist

Anything else?

After waiting over 8 months for a knee operation i found the whole procedure a rush and felt i was an annoyance rather than a patient. i had to go to the reception are fro 8.00am i was still sitting there at 3.30pm! Not the most compfortable place to sit, when i enquired why i could not have come at a later time...the answer...i dont know! I had not eaten or drank since 9.30pm the night before so you can imagine i was very thirsty and by 2.00pm i was hungry and felt sick. The the type of anaesthetic was discussed and a different option was advised (my BMI) although this has not altered since the whole process began. They did not go into much detail or make me feel i had a choice as my BMI was mentioned a few times so as i am over wieght i thought it would be a better option as i was already scared. I was the physically wrecthing in the toilet as the thought of a needle in my back scared me....i was then asked if wanted to cancel the op as i was vomiting...i was not vomiting as there was nothing to vomit! I was then places on a ward at about 4.00pm and was finally told i would be seen for my op (by now im pretty nervous) at 5/5.30pm Went i went down i was greated by the anaethetist who seemed rushed and annoyed by me...when they were putting the needles in my back i was crying with pain they basically shouted at me asking me what type of pain....i explained as i never experience anything like it i didnt know how to describe, they made me feel awful! When i was in waiting room after my op they came round again...their words of comfort.....i suggest you go home and lose weight so you dont have to come back and see me again!!!! Although in principle they are right i need to lose weight they were a horrid person...and this with other factors made my whole experience upsetting. logo


Response from Southampton General Hospital 10 years ago
Southampton General Hospital
Submitted on 21/04/2011 at 12:45
Published on on 22/04/2011 at 04:00

We are sorry you have been upset by your experience and would really like to speak to you about this, to find out more about the specific details of the times and places you were treated, to help us identify and work with the relevant staff, in order to ensure we provide a high standard of both clinical care and communications. We would also like the opportunity to give you a personal and detailed response once we have investigated.

If you have not already done so please contact our patient advice and liaison team on or 023 8079 8498. Unfortunately we do not get your contact details from this website so we are unable to contact you direct.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k