This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Hospital Comment"

About: Scunthorpe General Hospital

What I liked


What could be improved

Everything. I was admitted onto ward 25 via A&E on the 28/02/11 with acute stomach/kidney cramps. When I was admitted to the ward both my wife and I noticed how dirty it looked, there was a canula plaster wrapper on the floor between my bed and the next one, and it remained there for 2 days. During my first night on the ward the young man opposite me who was wheelchair bound had an accident with his catheter bag during the night. The bag had opened and Urine had leaked allover the floor next to his bed and underneath it. When the Auxillaries were told they got a few nappies and mopped it up at the side of the bed, but they did not mop the Urine up that was under the bed, they left it to dry up, I was absolutely disgusted with this. The floor was not mopped until later that afternoon when I had gone for my CT Scan. The nurse who came for me to take me for the scan didnt fetch a chair for me to go in, and when I told her I couldnt walk that far she took umbrage and stormed off with the huff on to get one. When I eventually got to CT Scan she didnt put the brake on and when I stood the chair went back, the Radiographer asked if I was ok to walk into the room and I told her what had happened previously with the nurse wanting me to walk all the way. When the nurse came back she had a completely different attitude because the radiographer had complained to the ward about her. Whilst there I picked up an infection in my wrist where the canula had been inserted, I asked on several occasions to have a doc look at it and no one ever did. It ended up with me getting Cellulitis in my wrist. I was eventually discharged on the 03/03/11 with some antibiotics to combat it.

Anything else?

I ended up having to be admitted to DRI on the 04/03/11 for treatment to my infection. I was in there for 4 days and im still being treated by them because of Scunthorpes uncleanliness. logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Scunthorpe General Hospital 10 years ago
Scunthorpe General Hospital
Submitted on 11/04/2011 at 15:55
Published on on 17/04/2011 at 10:52

We have investigated the concerns raised in this post - as we take cleanliness extremely seriously. In terms of cleaning, we have confirmed with those involved that everything was done according to procedures and policy was followed at all times. We would take issue with some of the comments made in this report and can find no record of a conversation between the radiographer and the ward regarding the nurse's attitude. However, as always if people have any issues regarding the care they receive from us, we would ask them to bring it to our attention, and if not satisfied, please alert our Patient Advice and Liaison Service who can investigate the concerns fully

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k