This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Will not be going back if we have a..."

About: Lincoln County Hospital

What I liked

I was seen almost instantly by the examining nurse.

Once I was on the ward, the care and nurses were very helpful and kept me informed about what was happening.

What could be improved

I have photographs of bloody tissues underneath the chairs where we were sat, white footprints over the carpets and mud on the floors.

Once seen by the examining nurse, we were taken through, an hour later even though being told we were a priority case, into see a doctor. He told us he was just going to fetch a bed, and ten minutes later another nurse came and moved us out of the cubicle onto the waiting room seats outside the x-ray department. The reason was an overdose, and bearing this in mind, we believed we would be checked on and dealt with reasonably quickly, and with the waiting room being completely empty, thought we'd only have a short wait.

An hour later, the nurse who moved us walked past and told us that she had forgotten about us and she'd sort it out. No one even checked on us for another two hours, when the nurse returned to tell us that there were no beds in Bailgate ward, and they were having to arrange something. There was however, an empty bed next to us, but we were never once told to make ourselves comfortable.

It wasn't until we went and complained an hour later that we were taken to a ward.

Upon arrival we passed 4 empty beds, in female wards.

My friend was then treated rudely by the nurse from earlier and she was inconsiderate and raised her voice. logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jennie Negus, Head of Patient Experience, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust 9 years ago
Jennie Negus
Head of Patient Experience,
United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust
Submitted on 07/09/2012 at 16:56
Published on Care Opinion on 10/09/2012 at 09:25

picture of Jennie Negus

I would like to apologise on two counts; firstly because of your clearly very difficult experience and secondly because of the delay in my responding to your posting. We have only recently introduced a process for responding to postings here on Patient Opinion and are working through older postings as well as the newer ones as even after some time they are still important and valuable to us.

Clearly it would be very difficult after such a time to respond in detail to the concerns you have raised, however I would like to sincerely apologise. The standards of cleanliness you describe are not acceptable and I can appreciate and acknowlegde your frustration and worry at not being updated on what was happening or seen for long periods of time. I cannot turn the clock back but your story is being shared with staff across the sites so they can understand how patients experience our care.

Please again accept my apologies.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k