This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Very distressing - could do better."

About: Southampton General Hospital

What I liked

there were several very hardworking, caring and kind nurses and housekeeping staff.

What could be improved

Leaving patients who are unable to move to wait frequently 25 to 45 minutes for a comode or to be wheeled to the toilet is not good enough. Even worse is being abandoned in the toilet or on the comode for similar periods of time. It is stressful enough in hospital without being worried you are going to wet or mess the bed especially during visiting hours.

There are insufficient staff to cope with patients with mental illness, either shouting all night or women wandering into the mens' ward and men wandering into the womens' ward, particularly with their bits hanging out..

They have the 'red trays' for patients who need help eating but no staff to actually help you eat!

There was an amazing amount of arrogance shown by some of the doctors I saw who spoke to me as if I were an idiot and complete strangers coming up to ask me about my bowels! At least introduce yourself first. Overall, some members of staff were brilliant, cheerful, helpful and understanding whilst others would walk past patients in obvious distress. Definitely avoid being on the ward at the weekend - 3 members of staff are not enough for 30 patients.

Anything else?

I was there because an outpatients proceedure had gone wrong. The pain was terrible but far worse was trying to sleep with some poor woman shouting for 'a nice cup of tea' all night, being abandoned in the loo in excruciating pain when I needed to be lying down, doctors never coming at the time said and their attitude towards me and other patients. logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southampton General Hospital 11 years ago
Southampton General Hospital
Submitted on 15/04/2011 at 12:40
Published on on 17/04/2011 at 10:52

We’re grateful that you’ve taken the time to share these comments and sorry that you had a mixed experience.

We expect patients to be treated with compassion and in a timely manner, and our staff are trained in communication as well as providing the highest levels of clinical care. Therefore we’d really like to know which ward you were treated on and when, so we can investigate your concerns more specifically and ensure our service standards are upheld. We don’t get your contact details from the NHS Choices website so please get in touch with our Patient Advice and Liaison team on or 023 8079 8498 if you haven’t already.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k