This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"The most appalling day of my Father's..."

About: Tameside General Hospital

What I liked

nothing at all !!

What could be improved


Anything else?

I was at the A&E department with my 82 year old Father who was passing an unacceptable ammount of blood in his urine via his catheter, I feel the way he was treated was disgusting to say the least . All attention was paid to the BUPA section around the corner this was spotless! I know because my Father was taken in there by mistake. The area he ended up in was disgustingly filthy -- there was blood and rubbish all over the floor ! Call themselves accident and emergency ! It was 2 hours before an 82 year old man was seen by the same Doctor treating the BUPA patients.There was a Staff Nurse there with the most vile cough taking his details, I nearly took him away there and then ! After 4 hours they washed their hands of him and sent him to Stepping Hill where he wasn't treated any better I have yet to inform them how disgusted I am with them.

I feel that for someone who has contributed all his working life contributing to the NHS he could have been treated with a little more dignity and respect.AccidentsUrinary catheterisationAttentiveCleanlinessDignityOpening hoursAccident and emergencyDoctorsNursing staff logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Tameside General Hospital 10 years ago
Tameside General Hospital
Submitted on 16/02/2011 at 14:44
Published on on 17/02/2011 at 04:00

Thank you for posting these remarks. I am sorry to hear that the A&E department was dirty. We are undertaking improvements works in the department and so far have had no complaints about the effects of this. However, I have asked a senior member of the Trusts estates team to visit the area to assess whether the cleaning is being conducted to the appropriate standard. I would also have to question the assertion that a doctor was treating BUPA patients there is no BUPA section in the hospital, no BUPA patients and BUPA doctors. I am very sorry that your experience wasn’t satisfactory, and have asked the senior nurse for the area to look into the issues you have raised. As this is an anonymous posting it is difficult with certainty on the issues you have raised. If you would care to provide me with further details about your father I would be to investigate.

Kind regards

Philip Dylak

Director of Nursing

“Would you like to help the hospital to improve its services further? We are currently looking for patients and carers to become involved in a development called “Patient Stories”. We want to know more about our services from the point of view of those who received them – what was good, bad, what could be improved, what should be changed. Want to know more about what’s involved?

Please contact Philip Dylak, Director of Nursing at

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k