This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"son left neglected for 2 days."

About: Royal Bolton Hospital

What I liked

The Staff were great, apart from one of the A+E staff. The play team were amazing, food was average and the cleanliness was .

What could be improved

after a fall down the stairs with my then 7 month old son we went straight to A+E childrens department and was booked in straight away, after 3 hours we was seen by a A+E doctor who hadnt the slightest clue about what he was doing. he just looked at my son for few second and said "well he looks ok... I'm just going to check the guidence book" and left the room and came back in with a leaflet basically telling us to keep him from playing contact sports. at this point my son was still crying. the next day i kept a close eye on him and noticed that he only cried when i lifted his leg to change him, i went straight to the doctors the next day and he refused to check him over incase he caused more harm and sent us straight back up to the hospital. there he had an x-ray and it turned out he had fractured his left femur.

I'm sorry, that is called neglect and im still sickened about it. that doctor failed to check my son over head to toe (standard procedure for a fall down the stairs) and left him in agony for 2 days. my son spent 2 weeks in traction, the ward he was on was amazing, apart from one of the nurses who would tell me off for letting him roll onto his tummy (7 months old, not an easy task) she stopped when another person there with a 1 year old in traction asked her to watch him whilst he went to the toilet.FracturesCleanlinessFoodOpening hoursLeafletsX-rayChildrenX-rayDoctorsTractionNursing staffToilets logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Bolton Hospital 11 years ago
Royal Bolton Hospital
Submitted on 08/03/2011 at 12:26
Published on on 17/04/2011 at 10:51

We’re very pleased that you were happy with the majority of staff you encountered. However it is clear that you were not satisfied with what happened when you brought your son to the hospital initially. We do have a Patient Advice and Liaison Service and also a Customer Relations Service who you can contact if you wish to discuss your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k