This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Great care, fabulous staff!"

About: Russells Hall Hospital

What I liked

Brilliant staff, particularly the nurses.

High standard of cleanliness.

Small rooms on the ward of only 4 beds.

Single sex ward.

The food was suprisingly very very good!

Good long visiting hours.

Recieved excellent care.

What could be improved

The length of time it takes to recieve medication (to take home) from the hospital pharmacy when on a ward is very long.

Anything else?

I was admitted onto ward B2 for three days (the three days before Xmas day) after being rushed into A&E suffering with severe dehyrdation due to very bad morning sickness. I had never been in hospital for a long period before and found that everyone helped to put me at ease, I felt very well looked after the entire time, particilarly by the nurses of ward B2 (station 2) who were all brilliant, day and night, although obviously very busy they always had time for everyone, if I pressed my buzzer they would respond within a minute. Every staff member I encountered was friendly, polite and very caring, from the porters to the people bringing around tea and coffee.

My only slight complaint was that after being brought to A&E in an ambulance I was told that the wait was going to be very long so I was then put back into an ambulance and driven to an NHS walk-in centre down the road because this would apparently be quicker. I don't know if this was quicker or not, but i had to wait to be seen by a GP and then told that i would need to go back to A&E, which I then had to catch a taxi back to hospital and wait to be seen in A&E anyway. I found that whole thing pretty pointless, i would rather have just stayed put and waited at the hospital as i was so ill, all the travelling around was really not helping.

However this slight negative is outweighed by my very positive experience at the hospital and i would happily recommend Russells Hall to anyone.ComplaintsReceptionWardAmbulanceNursing staffPortersVisiting timesCleanlinessFoodPatient careAccommodationBedsPharmacy logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Russells Hall Hospital 10 years ago
Russells Hall Hospital
Submitted on 30/03/2011 at 16:22
Published on on 17/04/2011 at 10:51

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hospital. Your positive feedback will be passed on to the staff on ward B2, station 2 and Accident and Emergency.

We apologise for the negative experience that you had when you arrived to the hospital. The high number of admissions over the Christmas period may be why the decision was made to take you to the walk in centre.

The delay in receiving your prescription prior to discharge may have been because of the large number of prescriptions being processed by Pharmacy. The hospital has been very busy over the Christmas period.

We are glad this didn’t outweigh your overall opinion of the hospital.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k