This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?


About: Kettering General Hospital

What I liked

are you joking?

What could be improved

if someone was to ask me if they should consider being an outpatient/inpatient at this hospital.. 3 words... don't go there.

they will impress you at first with the first appt being quite soon, but after that u may as well wait 4 months for your first appt at another hospital and you will still be treated quicker.

1 - lost all my MRI scan results that i had done privately in May 2010... even though i called weekly to make sure they had arrived and it was confirmed... "yes we have them here". Then, you will arrive at your second appt hopeful that this appt will be a discussion on treatment only to have the nurse ask you, "do you have your MRI results with you?". Well no i do not have them with me because i made sure that they were sent here and the secretary confirmed they were here. "maybe they were lost in internal post then." Not good enough! if they are in the hospital then find them!! So, i then had to wait a month for an "urgent" MRI scan only to be told when i get there that as i have had metal in my before that they need to do a scan on my eye first so it cant be done today. Which is fair enough but this was 10years ago that i had this metal in my eye and it was taken out the same day. I was also confronted by a very rude assistant telling me that as I'd not had an MRI before i would need this scan first. Sorry what? The only reason I am here now is because your hospital lost my MRI result so dont tell me i havent had one before please. yet again, another wasted journey (I'm not local, about 25 miles away actually)

2 - They will then book you an appt in Rheumatology, send you a letter confirming it, then when you get there 10 minutes early and go to check in, the receptionist will tell you, "oh your appt isnt at this hospital its in rushden" Then why did the letter tell me it was at Kettering then???????? yet another wasted journey!!!

my first appt here was in August. I still have no diagnosis and no treatment plan. I am 19 years old it is not fair for me

Anything else?

to be left in this much pain! i have had the complaint for over a year and still nothing has been done! i should be out enjoying myself not doubled over in pain on a daily basis having to take 3 different types of pain killer!

to be very honest all this hospital will do is mess you around and waste your time. Go to another hospital where they will actually take notice of you and not change locations of appts and tell you that they tried to make contact. Did you?? send a letter! dont think that because you tried to phone me "once" that's enough, because its not!

I have wasted money getting to and from this hospital on 4 seperate occasions for no reason and i am more than sick of it now. i wont be coming back. logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Kettering General Hospital 10 years ago
Kettering General Hospital
Submitted on 23/12/2010 at 11:05
Published on on 24/12/2010 at 04:01

We can only apologise for the inconvenience this has caused, however if you would like to contact us to discuss the concerns further, we can look into the specific issues you have raised. We would ask you to contact Carolyn Ginns, Head of Nursing for Clinical Services on 01536 492407.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k