This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?


About: Stepping Hill Hospital

What could be improved

Organisation. Redefine what an appointment system is within the Eye Clinic, and what it should deliver to the customers of that department. Start again with the administration department, letters being sent after the event are just another example of the waste, I suspect that the reason for waiting in excess of 1 hour is also down to administration.

Anything else?

I dont ever go onto these sort of sites and post complaints but with regards to Moriarty and the Eye clinic I have to say what a shambles. As a 'customer' it has to be the worst run organisation I have come across, I only wish I could run my business in this fashion and stay in business! In short on my last visit, after reporting into reception for an appointed time, I then waited for 1 hour and 10 mins, when i enquired to what was going on I was told "they were busy". How can an appointment system get so far behind just because they are busy, what is the point of an appointment system? Like most poeple my world cannot stop just because the NHS is involoved so I had to go. To add to the fiasco I then received a letter two days later to confirm the appointment that was for the two days earlier!, what a waste of public money, I have now recieved a copy letter sent to my old doctor dispite telling Moriaty of my current doctor, which states that I apppeared to be unable to attend an appointment when the appointment I was given and turned up for was in early October (as the reception at the Eye hospital will varify)!! It then goes onto say it will make one more appointment except they have already offered me one in a letter sent 10 days ago for late December!! An absolute shambles! logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Stepping Hill Hospital 11 years ago
Stepping Hill Hospital
Submitted on 01/12/2010 at 15:15
Published on on 02/12/2010 at 04:01

Thank you for your comments following your recent out-patient appointment at Stepping Hill Hospital - I am sorry you found it to be a shambolic and unacceptable experience.

Given the number of issues you raise I would like to suggest that you contact a member of our Patient & Customer Services (PCS) Team to discuss with them if you would like these issues investigated further and a written response provided to you in connection with the specific appointment related issues you have raised. Our Patient and Customer Services Department can be contacted in the following ways:

Telephone Number: 0161 419 5678


I have copied your comments to the PCS department so they are aware of the issues you have raised however they will not progress this until you have contacted them and given your permission for them to undertake any further action.

Annette Donegani

Head of Patient Experience & Involvememt

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k