This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"A complete nightmare."

About: Solihull Hospital

What I liked

Proximity to home address. Modern hospital.

What could be improved

During 1st labour, midwives should have encouraged upright position rather than prolonging labour by being on back. Should not have had to wait half hour for an on-call doctor to arrive during advanced labour which was not progressing ie whilst in a lot of pain. Midwives should not have taken Dad/baby into room next door leaving mum alone immediately after delivery.

During 2nd labour , maternity unit should have allowed birth partner to enter Labour Ward rather than insisting on leaving pregnant women alone in advanced labour until another adult to arrived to collect younger sibbling. Postnatally Midwives should have provided more support for breastfeeding rather than trying to start formula feeding. Midwives postnatally should have transferred an ill baby to a paediatric unit rather than putting all focus on one family to the detriment of others on postnatal ward.

Anything else?

The hospital provide a midwife counsellor to discuss birth experiences afterwards - the counsellor suggested trying another hospital for 2nd labour but the problem with that is you need local maternity services unless you have a planned delivery. I made a complaint about the maternity services at Solihull hospital via the routine complaints procedure. logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Heart Of England NHS Foundation Trust 11 years ago
Submitted on 26/11/2010 at 13:48

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.

We are sorry to hear of the problems you had during your labours at Solihull Hospital. You mention that you have made a complaint.

If you need to check on the progress of your complaint at any time the Complaints Department can be contacted on 0121 424 0517.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Solihull Hospital 10 years ago
Solihull Hospital
Submitted on 15/12/2010 at 14:05
Published on on 16/12/2010 at 04:01

Thank your feedback and we are sorry to hear you were not happy with your care and treatment during labour.

Your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments. However, we are always trying to improve our services and it would be really helpful if you were to contact our Patient Advice and Liasion Service (PALS) on (0121) 424 1212 or email and provide them with more details so we can investigate this further.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k