This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Going home!!"

About: Stepping Hill Hospital

What I liked

Going home!!

What could be improved

Everything -----

* Blood on floor and toilet in maternity assessment unit

* denied pain relief except gas & air even tho i was told by aesthetic nurse i was aloud it

* left waiting to be assessed for 2 hours despite unit being empty

* told i had to be more quiet in the mau in maternity as i was screaming too loud !!

* another midwife walking in to watch my birth without permission

* not offered food or drink until the day after my baby was born although i was persuaded to breastfeed

* had 2 clean another woman's blood from shower cubicle, after telling doc bout it twice, asked for towels and was given dirty ones!!

* was left without pillows for 4 hours midwife said there was no clean ones so i had to do without -- after my birth !!

* midwife was hurting me examining my tear even tho i told the midwife 2 stop they wouldnt..

* was left on my own, in another room away from my baby and partner 2 hours after giving birth 2 be stitched which i waited 3 hours to happen finally after i left the hospital i started to get sorer than i was initially and felt like something was stuck inside me also every time i went to the loo i would smell a horrible rotting smell which i was told was completely normal by SH staff then horrifyingly around four weeks after giving birth went 2 the loo where i passed a black blood soaked cotton swab !! -- which had obviously been there since being stitched,,,, now 9 weeks later i have an infection which is having 2 be treated with antibiotics !! it is appalling

Anything else?

complain if u have too dont let somebody else go thru wat u did !! logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Stepping Hill Hospital 11 years ago
Stepping Hill Hospital
Submitted on 20/10/2010 at 09:57
Published on on 21/10/2010 at 04:00

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Stepping Hill Hospital Maternity Unit - I am sorry you had such a distressing experience.

Given the detail and number of issues you raise I would like to suggest that you contact a member of our Patient & Customer Services (PCS) Team to discuss with them if you would like these issues investigated further and a written response provided to you in connection with the care and treatment you received. Our Patient and Customer Services Department can be contacted in the following ways:

Telephone Number: 0161 419 5678


I have copied your comments to the PCS department and our Maternity Service so they are aware of the issues you have raised and can take action to address these areas. However they will not be able to progress this more formally until you have contacted them directly with your contact details and given your permission for them to undertake any further action.

Annette Donegani

Head of Patient Experience & Involvememt

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k