This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"The good medical care given by the..."

About: University Hospital Of Hartlepool

What I liked

The good medical care given by the doctors

What could be improved

There was no compassion and a total lack of dignity by the nursing staff. When a extremely frightened (and trembling) 80 year old man, was admitted, his wife was not allowed the chance to say goodbye in the ward - even though this had been requested at pre-admission clinic. Goodbye had to be said in the reception area where there were other people present this was both undignified and embarassing. The attitude of the care assistant who took him into the ward,was very abrupt and rude. logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from University Hospital Of Hartlepool 11 years ago
University Hospital Of Hartlepool
Submitted on 05/10/2010 at 15:50
Published on on 06/10/2010 at 04:00

Dear MG – We are very sorry to hear of this gentleman and his wife’s experience at the University Hospital of Hartlepool. To hear that this has happened is a great disappointment to us. We are very sorry that you and this couple feel let down because this is certainly not how we would want our patients, their relatives and their friends to feel. However we are grateful that you have brought this to our attention because we can learn from this and improve things for patients in future. Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment on NHS Choices.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k