This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"I visited A & E - service was..."

About: Fairfield General Hospital

What I liked

I visited A & E - service was satisfactory. Wait was long but to be expected.

What could be improved

Went in with a very swollen leg unable to walk. Xray apparently showed no broken bones. Sent home with pain killers.

Returned 5 days later as requested for further investigation. As I was experiencing pain and could not walk I had further xrays. Leg found to be broken. Sent home to return in 3days to a fracture clinic. When I asked for immediate treatment the Dr said I was not an emergency.

I have now spent 7 days hardly able to move sat in a chair with a painful leg. Not able to sleep as everytime I move the leg sends shooting pain around the break.


Anything else?

1. Incorrect diagnosis.

2. No treatment offered for 3 days after correct diagnosis.

3. Complaints procedure will be iniatiated. logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Fairfield General Hospital 11 years ago
Fairfield General Hospital
Submitted on 11/10/2010 at 11:22
Published on on 12/10/2010 at 04:00

We are very sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the treatment you experienced whilst attending Fairfield General Hospital; we understand that this must have been upsetting for you.

We note that you will be pursuing the complaints procedure, however if you would like to speak to someone immediately, please contact the PALS service on 0161 778 2455, who will investigate the issues identified.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k