"Fitzwilliam centre"

About: Sheffield treatment and recovery team / substance misuse

(as the patient),

I was referred to the Fitzwilliam centre. When I arrived for my first appointment I saw a nurse with a view to getting prescribed medication to help with my issues.The nurse seemed quite uninterested, and sat facing my friend who had accompanied me rather than engaging with me.

They started the paper work and half way through, tossed it on the desk and said there’s a lot more to fill in but I can't be bothered. I was surprised by this attitude but too nervous to say anything at the time.

When I mentioned medication, the nurse also said the doctors are going to call me nurse medication because everyone who comes through the door asks me for it, which I thought was inappropriate as well.It was agreed to get my blood test to see if I can take the drug but there was no nurse available to do this.

A week went by and I rang and to make another appointment this time to see if I could be considered for residential rehab. When I saw the nurse this time they said that they would put a case forward for residential rehab but in the mean time referred me to another service and got my blood test done.

A week later I had heard nothing so I rang again and they said have you not heard from the other service I referred you to, I will ring them.

Regarding residential rehab the lady that deals with referrals is on holiday and will ring Monday.

Regarding the medication I will make you an emergency appointment with the doctor because your blood results are good to start the treatment.

Within the hour the other service rang me and said that they had not received a referral for me in the first place as they would have responded immediately.

Another week passed and I have had my meeting at the other service but have still heard nothing from the Fitzwilliam centre.

My key worker at the other service said that they would ring Fitzwilliam to chase up my treatment but I have not heard anything yet.

Overall I am very disappointed with the service I have received from the centre and especially with the attitude of the nurse. This may be another day at the office for them, but it took me a lot to walk through that door and ask for help and it is my whole life that is affected by a serious problem, that I feel was not taken seriously enough.

Lucky for me I was getting stronger thanks to the support I was getting, elsewhere but I am concerned for those who may not be as strong as I because this lack of care could lead to serious consequences for someone.


Response from Mia Bajin, Engagement/Volunteer Manager, Sheffield Health and Social Care NHS Foundation Trust 9 years ago
Mia Bajin
Engagement/Volunteer Manager,
Sheffield Health and Social Care NHS Foundation Trust
Submitted on 08/10/2010 at 17:02
Published on Care Opinion on 09/10/2010 at 01:00

picture of Mia Bajin

Dear Johnny,

I am sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with the service you have received.

Please can I assure you that your comments have been noted and will be passed onto the relevant Team.

Please contact the PALS Team if there is anything further we can help you with, our number is 0114 271 8768

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful