This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Most of the members of staff were..."

About: Lister Hospital

What I liked

Most of the members of staff were pleasant and treated me well and were kind, however i think the bad outweighed the good of my stay.

What could be improved

Communication, My mother arrived at the hospital at 7am as requested, and obviously she appreciated waiting times and that there is a queing system, however she was informed she was late morning to early afternoon when in fact she was not taken by the porter until 6.30pm which quite frankly I found unacceptable, she was just keen to get her operation over with, however i think asked a patient to wait 11 hours 30 minutes with one small beaker of water and no food (which i realise is a pre operative routine) however she is 56 and due to her previous health conditions this resulted in her feeling unwell, achey, dizzy and many other negative side effects. I do appreciate that surgery can change and procedures can end up taking longer than expected and that there is a surgery order for a reason, however I feel that a late morning to early afternoon estimation vs a 6.30pm reality is quite a lot of difference and not very good patient care.

Anything else?

I was also upset to hear that after a reconstructive surgery which required my mother to wear a supportive garment which is usually provided by the hospital however she was only provided with a size XL (for a woman who would be a S to a M at very most) and the nurses were most unhelpful trying to explain what she could do (their only suggestion was to buy the item from marks and spencers which would be at least £15-£20) and at times were talking at great volume over my mother which is not how someone would wish to be spoken to at the best of times, let alone after a 12 hour wait and then an operation. My mother did suggest perhaps someone could call Bedford hospital (as that is actually where we are from) however the staff were not happy to do this (despite this support garment being a crutial part of the aftercare after these types of operation) and the only reason my mother was supplied with the correct sized garment is because another patient became involved and gave the nurses the number of the bedford care nurse within the speciality who was happy to provide my mother with what she needed. I just felt that these members of staff (although it was not all members of staff, most were very pleasant) could have more empathy and deal with situations in a slightly more professional way. It would also have been pleasant to have been updated more often when waiting the previous day as after being told late morning to early afternoon we were not informed again was most unsetteling. logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Lister Hospital 11 years ago
Lister Hospital
Submitted on 29/09/2010 at 18:17
Published on on 30/09/2010 at 04:00

We were saddened to hear of your experience and if you have not made a formal complaint, then we would urge you to do so. This would not only allow us to investigate your concerns in full and provide you and your mother with an official apology, but also to ensure that the lessons learnt can be shared with as many staff as possible. Should you be willing to let us do this, then please contact us via and we will get the ball rolling for you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k