This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"i was an in patient on f7 in sept 09 and..."

About: Southampton General Hospital

What I liked

i was an in patient on f7 in sept 09 and i could not have asked for better treatment im a spina bifida and have had numerous stays at sgh and i have always been very happy with how i have been dealt with. My experience on f7 in 2009 i cant praise the staff enough they are all very caring and cosiderate wether they are qualified nurses,doctors or even HCAs or cleaning staff on this ward. im a nervous patient but i was made to feel very welcome and relaxed there is so much i could say but it would take up pages i am still having things done and i still find the staff very warm and friendly I would like to say a big thankyou for all the care and support i recieved then and still am getting now to ALL the staff on f7

What could be improved

things that could possibly be improved is when you receive a letter for admission u should be able to be admitted as it gets confusing if u get this type of letter and then u find u have not got a bed. Also more staff on the ward would be good as its abusy ward and often the staff are over stretched and are unable to forfil all the duties they have as much as they want to, for example being able to talk to their patients without having to rush due to other duties having to be maintained i must say though they do their best at all times.

Anything else?

the food needs improvement and also a choice of alternative menus for people who have poor appetites but who are still able to eat. i personally have problems with eating and would welcome an alternative menu also some of the people who serve out the food need to have a bit of a nicer approach and be able to understand a request when its being asked of them. Generally on the whole most of the hosts and hostesses do a good job logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Southampton General Hospital 11 years ago
Southampton General Hospital
Submitted on 08/10/2010 at 16:59
Published on on 09/10/2010 at 04:01

Thank your feedback – we have passed your comments on to the staff and managers of F7.

We appreciate your comments about the admission letters. Unfortunately sometimes we have fewer free beds than expected because of factors that we can’t control such as emergency admissions. We try to tell patients in advance if this happens, but if we did not do this in your case then we are sorry. Similarly, sometimes unforeseen circumstances mean that staff on the ward are busier than expected. If you have any problems you can always them with the matron while you are staying with us, or with our Patient Advice and Liaision service afterwards ( or 023 8079 8498).

We received a great deal of feedback from patients about the new meal system that was implemented towards the end of 2009 and we continue to work hard to meet patients’ needs for choice and nutrition.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k