This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Once communication was underway there..."

About: Leicester General Hospital

What I liked

Once communication was underway there was detailed information about my grandads condition, his treatment, results of tests and expected outcome of such, plus a Drs name and phone number to contact for any further information, it was a shame that this hadn't been forthcoming sooner.

What could be improved

Communication between staff, as certain medication should have been given in a certain way, this didnt happen until the doctor concerned returned from holiday, therefore delaying the effectiveness of my Grandads treatment and causing him to remain in hospital longer. The results of tests should have been communicated sooner, a point of contact should have been made available for family enquiries, and personal hygiene should have been addressed from day one and not just after incidents that cant be ignored. Responding to the call button should have been immediate as my Grandad fell twice trying to get to the toilet because no-one responded to his call, it was left to other patients to get the attention of staff when he was in distress or had fallen.

Anything else?

There was an overall atmosphere of "not my responsibility", trying to find a nurse who was responsible for my Grandad was difficult, I had to ask at the desk 3 times and then when the nurse did turn up they seemed to begrudge being asked to change dirty sheets, only by being this persistent did he receive his first shower in 3 weeks!

I'm in a position to compare my Grandads hospital care to what I have received myself 3 times in the last 8 years but at a Sheffield hospital and the experiences are worlds apart, I'm appalled at the lack of dignified care and personal interest towards a frail elderly gentleman, who isnt trying to cause a fuss at all but just wants to be well enough to return home. logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leicester General Hospital 8 years ago
Leicester General Hospital
Submitted on 28/11/2013 at 16:43
Published on on 29/11/2013 at 03:00

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about you and your Grandad's experience at Leicester General Hospital. We realise a significant amount of time has passed since you posted your comment and we would like to sincerely apologise that we did respond to in a timely manner. We have since updated our process of responding to reviews posted on NHS Choices and are now committed to making sure we respond to comments within 21 days of the date they are posted. If you would still like you comment or concern to be investigated, please contact PILS on 08081 788337 or online at If you have any other specific questions or comments, please feel free to contact us on Thank you Communications Team Leicester’s Hospitals

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k