This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"An appointment was provided very quickly..."

About: Russells Hall Hospital

What I liked

An appointment was provided very quickly. Nurses were helpful and reassuring.

What could be improved

I feel that my implied consent to treatment was not gained as the procedures during the appointment were significantly different to those set out in the patient information leaflet sent to me prior to the appointment. In particular, procedures included aspects which I, my family and others would not have expected to occur without my expressed consent.

Also, I would have liked to have been seen closer to my appointment time - I waited for over an hour past my appointment time in outpatients, it seemed that a number of people had the same appointment time.

Anything else?

It isn't easy to find out who to complain to at this hospital. For instance the patient information leaflet asked for constructive feedback, but did not indicate who to send it to.

There seems to be little recognition that patients have to take time off from work to attend appointments - time wasted while waiting and the need to visit more than once when it could all have been done on the same visit. Presumably it also cost the hospital more to provide two appointments (although it does generate two car parking charges). logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Russells Hall Hospital 11 years ago
Russells Hall Hospital
Submitted on 30/09/2010 at 09:51
Published on on 01/10/2010 at 04:00

Thank you for taking the trouble to post your comments. We are very sorry that you did not have a good experience during your visit to Russells Hall Hospital.

We have appointed a dedicated Patient Information Officer to improve the quality of our patient information. This person is reviewing and revising the patient information policy and working on standardising the leaflets across the Trust.

We have recently introduced an outpatient management board that is dedicated to improving the outpatient service for our patients so we would encourage you to contact our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01384 244420, to give us further details of your experience so we can learn from it.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k