This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"the only think i liked about this..."

About: Tameside General Hospital

What I liked

the only think i liked about this hospital was that the ward i was on SEF was cleaned daily and that my bed was changed daily.

What could be improved

the things in which needs to be improved in this hospital was that each time i told the doctor and nurse about my pain that they did not do anything.

secondly the nurse on the ward rang an emergency doctor to come and see me on a sunday and it took them ten hours and even then when the doctor got to the ward the doctor did not even come and see me they just talked to the nurse then went off the ward yet again.

i was sick one morning and the nurse said that they would come and check y b.p and give me an anti -sickness injection to this day i have not seen it.

one night on a saturday we had nurses on that could not speak English and could not understand us. whats the point in them working when no-one could understand them? logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Tameside General Hospital 11 years ago
Tameside General Hospital
Submitted on 06/08/2010 at 13:01
Published on on 07/08/2010 at 04:00

“The Trust is disappointed that you had such a poor experience on SEF. As part of the patient assessment it is expected that a patient is asked to indicate the degree of pain they are experiencing and if appropriate are given pain relieving medication. The nurse or doctor should then go back to the patient to see if the medication has been effective. I offer my profuse apologies that you did not experience this level of assessment. I have asked our Acute Pain Team to provide additional training to the nursing staff on SEF.

I am sure you can appreciate that at the weekend there is a reduction in the number of doctors in the hospital. The doctors have to prioritise the order in which they see patients. I am sorry that you endured such a long wait and that following your wait the doctor did not speak with your personally. The Trust is working hard to improve communication with patients; it will be made extremely clear that this behaviour is not acceptable.

It is difficult for me to offer an explanation as to why you did not receive your anti sickness injection. I am sorry that you did not receive it and that an explanation was not provided to you as to why it was not administered. All of the Registered Nurses that work on SEF are employed by the Trust. Nurses whose first language is not English have their language skills assessed at interview. I am surprised to read this and apologise if you felt this affected the care you received”

Philip Dylak

Director of Nursing

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k