This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"I am currently expecting my 5th baby and..."

About: Lincoln County Hospital

What I liked

I am currently expecting my 5th baby and have always admired the staff and service at lincoln mat wing .It has been 4 years since my last baby and i am absolutely disgusted with the way i have been treated in this pregnancy . From my dating scan at 12 week i have been made to feel embarresed , unsure ,very worried and like an idiot . I have had a health care worker shout out loud that i was overweight and tutted at me !.I have had 2 recent visits to the assessment centre with concerns that i have previoulsy been told by my doctor and midwife to report .After a stay overnight not only did they say i could go home but implide i was making my symptons up to get an early induction on top of this even before a prescription was ready for me (with which i said i would get on way home) a health care worker spoke over me to a member of staff saying "so she can go sit on a chair now we need the bed !" I sat on a chair in the ward still ill for 2 and hlf hours ! !!!.THis and the implication of faking illness has upset me very much as the only mention of induction was concerning the babys growth and how i was induced a few days early due to another pregnancy being large for dates . AFter todays appointment ,which was made by registrar on assessment unit to check babys growth i was asked by the midwife "why exactly are you here today???" yes i really like sitting in the scan area for over 2 hours waitng to be seen !. My concerns about being unwell the last few weeks were scoffed and seen as an attempt to "be induced early" ..i had to explain several times i was not asking this at all!. The registrar made a diagnosis on my illness from a swab i had taken 3 weeks previous and sent me on my way telling me there was no way i would be induced till 40+12 ....even on my last preganancy they only let you go 10 days over . As i was ill when i arrived home my husband made an appointment with my Gp who when i walked into the room commented on "how poorly you look"

What could be improved

patient treatment ..i.e customer service is appalling and teh unit is so overcrowded and understaffed the patients are being treated like cattle . I have had 12 years experience of this unit and it has seriously gone down hill with immense lack of communication and basic consideration for the ladys being treated.I actually came home and cried this week after the treatment i had and on talking to others they have had similiar experiences .i was loudly informed by a health care worker changing teh bed i had been kicked out of that " you should count yourself lucky to be here ! you will be shipped out to boston next time as they aer full" i said im sure with living 5 mins from hospital that would be silly i was then told "you will do as your told and put up with it!!! " charming lady

Anything else?

i am more than happy for this to be passed onto the supervisor of midwives as i am in process of putting a complaint together to send .I was holding back but after todays visit i haev had enough of being put down and treated like some idiot logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Jennie Negus, Head of Patient Experience, United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust 9 years ago
Jennie Negus
Head of Patient Experience,
United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust
Submitted on 11/09/2012 at 21:42
Published on Care Opinion on 12/09/2012 at 09:14

picture of Jennie Negus

I am so sorry that you had such a difficult time - I note that you wrote that you were making a formal complain and I hope this was dealt with for you. As you can see I am replying some 2 years after your feedback - this is because we only recently set up our systems for reading and replying swiftly to stories posted here - it is clearly too late for me to be looking into the specific issues you raised but even after this time your story is still valuable to us.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us - feedback good or bad is important for us to learn from and improve our services.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k