This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Fantastically clean. All the ..."

About: Barlborough NHS Treatment Centre

What I liked

Fantastically clean. All the staff I came into contact with were very friendly, extremely patient focussed and all seemed genuinely very happy in their work. Extremely efficient working practices and genuine patient care. Fantastic experience from beginning to end - very impressive.

What could be improved

nothing as far as I'm concerned. Couldn't have been more satisfied.

Anything else?

Having never been in hospital for an operation and having a needle phobia makes me potentially a hospitals worst nightmare patient. My worst nightmare did come true regarding needles and anaesthetic, but this centre were brilliant and made my operation almost pleasant (if there is such a thing!!) with their care, concern and what felt like individual attention. They make sure they have the time to help with your fears and concerns and react to you as an individual, not as cattle on a conveyor belt, which larger hospitals can sometimes do. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend. My other knee may require a similar operation in the future and I dread to think what will happen, given the other choices available if this center were to close or revert back to NHS. I haven't overcome my fear of hopsitals, operations and needles but I wouldn't hesitate to go back to this centre. logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from 12 years ago
Submitted on 27/01/2010 at 08:08
Published on on 25/07/2010 at 20:38

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback and we're so glad that we were able to put your fears at ease before surgery. It is perfectly normal to feel apprehensive before surgery (major surgery at that!) and I am very certain you weren't the first or the last patient to feel this way. In fact, I'm sure if you asked a fellow patient, they too would be nervous. Our staff know this all too well and so do their utmost to make sure you feel as comfortable as possible throughout your stay.

Because we are purpose-built for planned surgery, we don't have all the usual pressures that a normal NHS orthopaedic department would have and so in a way, this really allows our staff to give that more personal touch and time to spend with patients like yourself who need that extra bit of attention and reassurance and I'm glad to hear we were able to do this for you.

We are working very closely with the local NHS to ensure we can continue post-contract so hopefully will be around if you need a knee op in the future.

Best wishes

Kara Dudley

Barlborough NHS Treatment Centre

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k