"The orthodontists and nurses were ..."

What I liked

The orthodontists and nurses were lovely. They made sure i was very well informed about my choices and put me at ease. They were very knowledgable but did not patronise me. The clinical photographer was great too. I cannot fault their service.

What could be improved

The administration of appointments. It took me two years from first requesting an appointment to get in there because despite on 3 seperate occasions confirming my address, they still sent it to the wrong one. Once i was there, they twice sent me appointments that were incorrect. I have had to cancel appointments but they were not communicated to the nurses or orthodontists and they thought i had just not turned up. I think it is their terrible case management and booking computer system that really lets them down. I had to attend about 6 or 7 appointments before we even got started with my braces and i think this could have been better planned so that it was all done in a couple of visits. That said i would still rate the hospital very highly.

Story from nhs.uk

Responses

Response from Birmingham Dental Hospital 11 years ago
Birmingham Dental Hospital
Submitted on 12/10/2009 at 10:44
Published on nhs.uk on 25/07/2010 at 20:37


Thank you for your feedback and for the positive comments you have made even though you have found the appointment system unacceptable and mistakes were made with correspondence. I am delighted to advise you that changes have recently been made to the administration of appointments and a new information system put into place, and we are hopeful that this will help to improve patients' experience.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Navigation
Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Actions
Focus Search Box /