This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"There is no under rating the honesty, ..."

What I liked

There is no under rating the honesty, friendliness and professionalism of the staff. Having been referred by my dentist I received an appointment in a reasonable amount of time. Although I waited a long time to be seen this was explained in the letters I received from the hospital. The consultant took time to explain things in detail using appropriate user friendly language.

What could be improved

I was informed that the treatment that I was referred for was no longer carried out at the dental hospital other than by 4th year dental students and no other treatment was offered other than advice to pay privately for a consultant in endodontics. While this advice was gratefully received the whole experience felt like a waste of my time and that of the staff at the dental hospital. I was left very distressed at this as I had become increasing more anxious at the thought of dental treatment after several painful attempts and had overcome my anxiety to attend by telling myself that it would soon be all over. While I understand issues of capacity, maybe the hospital needs to better inform their collegues in primary care of the services they do and do not provide.

Anything else?

After the visit I returned home to 2 messages left that morning from the hospital asking me to attend for my appointment earlier to go for x-rays. Requests like this are too late for the busy working person and maybe better planning in the appointments could avoid situations like this. logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Birmingham Dental Hospital 13 years ago
Birmingham Dental Hospital
Submitted on 02/03/2009 at 16:40
Published on on 25/07/2010 at 20:37

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry that you did not receive the information requesting you to arrive at the hospital before your appointment time in order to have X Rays. The Birmingham Dental Hospital does ask for patient telephone contact details, however, your experience indicates that this should include, where possible, a mobile phone number and / or a day time contact number.

Your feedback has been passed to the Associate Director for the Birmingham Dental Hospital. Your comments about General Dental Practitioners awareness of the services available will be discussed by relevant managers at the hospital, and systems for sharing such information will be reviewed and improved.

Thank you again for taking time to give your comments.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k