This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Quick action following my on line ..."

About: Good Hope Hospital

What I liked

Quick action following my on line complaint, A consultant and ward manager both arranged to meet myself mysister and my mothers sister within 8 days. The issues related to inadequate staffing levels and medical care. Wards were close to the car park.

What could be improved

More sensible priced parking charges and pro rata pricing - people who want to go twice a day are penalised

Anything else?

My serious complaint is about care on the Stroke ward - on several ocasions there were only 3 nurses on duty for 17 patients. This is a grossly unfair number for both the patients and staff. They cannot possible provide an adequate level of care for some people with severe problems.

The 3 nurses often got involved with any one patient for quite long periods of time, due to the nature of the affects of strokes. Then because they were so rushed they could not check adequately on the remaining patients needs. Some patients unless making a fuss ( which is what my mother did not want to do) went without medication to relieve pain or perhaps had problems that might not have happened if the staffing level had been adequate.

Although we were complaining about my mothers care - we at least have a voice and the opportunity to do so.

I therefore recognise that others who do not have someone to speak up for them would be even more disadvantaged.

I have to say that I have previously been concerned also about staff who looked scruffy and dirty.

I have also noticed that windows were dirty and stained on the outside presumably from the airconditioning and incineration plant in the grounds. If the windows are getting coated with substnces I wonder what is doing it.

I also believe that making sure that ward staff do not come on duty in their working clothes would greatly assist in the battle against MRSA, as would putting the hand barrier cream dispensers at the main entrances together with some sort of carpet and air misting devices. logo
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Good Hope Hospital 13 years ago
Good Hope Hospital
Submitted on 18/12/2008 at 16:37
Published on on 25/07/2010 at 20:36

Thank you for your feedback which is extremely important to us as part of our constant drive to further improve the services we offer. We have recently introduced uniforms for our doctors and staff do have to comply with our uniform policy. We also ensure alcohol gel dispensers (to combat MRSA) are at the entrance to every ward and actively encourage visitors to use these before entering the clincial environment. We have a stringent cleaning rota and do encourage patients and visitors to let us know if they see anything that concerns them during their stay with us.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k