This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"My Patient Journey Experience!"

About: General practices in Lanarkshire Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Glasgow / Neurology ( Wards 60-65) University Hospital Wishaw / Accident & Emergency

(as the patient),

MY PATIENT JOURNEY

I decided to map out my patient journey in NHS Lanarkshire and share it. I am a health professional and have found this a very enlightening experience! Sorry in advance for the long story!

FEBRUARY 2016

I was experiencing pain in my lower back again, this time it was shooting down my left leg and into my ankle. I attended the GP and after an examination I was advised that I had symptoms consistent with Sciatica. I was advised to take Paracetamol as required. The parecetamol weren’t making a difference so after a week or so I attended the GP again. A nurse (who was a pain nurse specialist) advised me to ask for 3 specific pain relief medications. The GP agreed and the pain seemed to be under control.

MARCH 2016

I was taking the medication regularly but still experiencing some pain whilst driving – I attended the GP again as I had a really bad episode for a few days and was advised to continue with the medication and cut down my driving where possible. They also gave me the contact number for self referral to a physiotherapist. I was advised that NHS Lanarkshire operated a system of self referral to physiotherapy. I called the helpline number, answered the questions and was advised that there was roughly a 12 week waiting list!

APRIL 2016

I continued to take my medication as prescribed and attended a private physiotherapist sometimes twice a week for assistance and mobility exercises.

MAY 2016

I continued to take my medication as prescribed and attended a private physiotherapist sometimes twice a week for assistance and mobility exercises.

JUNE 2016

I continued to take my medication as prescribed and attended a private physiotherapist sometimes twice a week for assistance and mobility exercises. I also went back to the GP again as the pain was not controlled very well. My medication was adjusted. I was signed off work as driving on that amount of medications was not recommended. I was still awaiting my physiotherapy referral – so I contacted them and was given an appointment! It worked out to 16 weeks I had been on the waiting list! My private physiotherapist advised that they could not continue to treat me as I now had my NHS appointment. I continued to take my medication as prescribed.

JULY 2016

I attended the physiotherapist on 4 occasions; nothing seemed to relieve the pain, so I was referred onto an Extended Scope Physiotherapist (ESP). I continued to take my medication as prescribed.

AUGUST 2016

I attended an appointment with the ESP, after a thorough examination and detailed history, I was advised that an Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) scan was required to determine the route of the pain and then an appropriate treatment plan could be devised. I was advised that the results should be available within 7 – 10 working days and that they would contact me to direct further. I continued to take my medication as prescribed.

SEPTEMBER 2016

I received an appointment and attended for MRI in Mid September. I was advised that the results would be sent to the ESP and that they would be in touch. After 14 working days I contacted the ESP service to enquire about my results. I was advised by an administrator that I would need an appointment to receive my results. An appointment was duly made for mid October. I continued to take my medication as prescribed.

OCTOBER 2016

I continued to take my medication as prescribed. I attended the appointment made for me in mid October with the Spinal / Orthopeadic Consultant. At the appointment I was seen by an ESP. We discussed my MRI results and I was shown the scan. It was explained to me that I had a bulging disc between Lumber 5 and Spinal 1. Discussion about treatment options followed and I was advised that the best course of treatment would be surgery and was duly referred to the Neurosurgical department at the Queen Elizabeth University Hospital (QEUH) in NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde.

NOVEMBER 2016

I continued to take my medication as prescribed. I contacted the appointments team at the QEUH to check my position on the waiting list, I was advised that it was a 13 – 15 week waiting list and I was on the routine list and I still had 7 – 9 weeks still to go, this was in mid November.

DECEMBER 2016

I continued to take my medication as prescribed. I contacted the appointments team at the QEUH in mid December again check my position on the waiting list; I was advised that I still had 3 – 5 weeks still to go. It was discovered also that I had been taking 2 Non Steroidal Anti Inflammatory Drugs (NSAID) at the same time and was advised to discontinue one of them with immediate effect. I had my Bloods done Urea and Electrolytes to check my renal function as a precautionary measure – all were normal. I contacted the appointments team at the end of December at the QEUH again check my position on the waiting list; I was advised that I still had 6 weeks still to go – I was confused about this and was advised by the administrator from the appointments team to discuss with my GP. I contacted the GP surgery the next day to discuss my concerns and to discuss some new symptoms I had been experiencing. I was seen by a registrar, thoroughly examined and based on her findings I sent to the Accident and Emergency (A&E) department at Wishaw General Hospital (WGH) for urgent review! The nursing staff on duty in the See and Treat area were excellent and very attentive to my needs. I was seen in A&E by an Orthopaedic Senior House Officer (SHO) and again given a thorough examination. Based on their finding and their discussions with the Orthopaedic Registrar, I was advised that I would be admitted and have another MRI in the morning. I was admitted to Ward 15 of WGH, the staff were very attentive, caring and compassionate. I was seen the next day by an orthopaedic consultant who I felt was a little curt, not really interested and distracted! ! They advised that I would have an MRI that day and depending on the results would determine whether I would be sent directly to the Neurosurgeons at QEUH (which was a 5% chance or discharged home. I had an MRI and was seen by another Orthopaedic SHO, I was advised that there was minimal changes in my MRI and that I would be discharge home on the same medications. I asked there would be any follow up or information passed to the Neurosurgeons at the QEUH – I was told there wouldn’t be! ! I was very concerned about this and challenged this. I was advised to contact my GP and discuss this.

JANUARY 2017

At the time of typing this, I am awaiting the reopening of my GP surgery following the festive holidays to discuss further.

MY THOUGHTS

I am in my mid forties and having now been unable to work for nearly 6months, experiencing pain off and on – I feel helpless, vulnerable and useless.

I feel that there are many positive elements of this journey, but I also believe that there are areas that could be improved and would welcome some thoughts, comments and discussions with the appropriate personnel within NHS Lanarkshire and NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Marion Mark, Director of Hospital Services, University Hospital Wishaw, NHS Lanarkshire 5 years ago
Marion Mark
Director of Hospital Services, University Hospital Wishaw,
NHS Lanarkshire
Submitted on 05/01/2017 at 08:06
Published on Care Opinion at 16:36


picture of Marion Mark

Dear Nursing Professional

I am sorry to hear that you have been in pain for so long and for the distress this is causing you. I can understand your frustration at the length of time that it has taken to give you a diagnosis of your condition and that now you are still waiting for your treatment.

If you could please call Yvonne Ross our Patient Affairs Manager on 01698366558 with your details we will fully investigate your journey and look to see if there is anything we can do to help alleviate your pain whilst you await your surgery.

I would strongly encourage you to get in touch with us please as the length of time you have been in pain is unacceptable and your experience is not of a standard I would expect at Wishaw General Hospital.

Kind Regards

Marion

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Nursing Professional (the patient)

Good Afternoon Marion,

Thanks for your response. I will ensure that I contact Yvonne tomorrow.

I also forgot to mention that I did not receive any discharge information to pass onto my GP (whom I seen yesterday).

As a Nursing Professional, I assumed that this would have been sent electronically to my GP and he would have an awareness of what had gone on at my last admission. Fortunately I was able to update him with this information, although he was unimpressed to say the least.

Response from Ann Gow, Chief Nurse, Regional Services, NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde 5 years ago
Ann Gow
Chief Nurse, Regional Services,
NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde
Submitted on 05/01/2017 at 17:04
Published on Care Opinion at 18:00


Dear Nursing Professional

I am sorry to hear about your poor experience and prolonged wait particularly when you are in pain and so many aspects of your life have been affected.

I really appreciate that despite your distress that you have shared that there are many positive aspects of your journey and note that you'd like to discuss some thoughts and comments about your journey which would help us to improve. We would really welcome the opportunity to do this. I'd be grateful if you could contact me direct my email address is ann.gow@ggc.scot.nhs.uk and we can set something up

I look forward to hearing from you

Ann

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Nursing Professional (the patient)

Good Evening Ann,

I will be in touch.

Regards

Nursing Professional

Update posted by Nursing Professional (the patient)

Very productive meeting today with Ann Gow and Gina Clark NHS Greater Glasgow & Clyde.

A pleasure to meet you both and thanks for listening to me.

Thank you both.

A very thankful Nursing Professional

Response from Irene Barkby, Executive Director of Nursing, Midwifery & Allied Health Professions, NHS Lanarkshire 5 years ago
Irene Barkby
Executive Director of Nursing, Midwifery & Allied Health Professions,
NHS Lanarkshire
Submitted on 17/01/2017 at 22:42
Published on Care Opinion on 18/01/2017 at 09:16


picture of Irene Barkby

Dear Nursing Professional,

Can you advise if you have been in contact with Yvonne Ross at Wishaw as requested by Marion Mark, Director of Hospital Services?

Also it is unclear if you are an employee of NHSLanarkshire. If so, I also would appreciate if you would contact me to all me to follow up on what if any support provided thus far.

I can be contacted at Irene.barkby@lanarkshire.scot.nhs.uk.

Best wishes

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Nursing Professional (the patient)

Good Afternoon Irene,

I will drop you an email .

Regards

Nursing Professional

Response from Irene Barkby, Executive Director of Nursing, Midwifery & Allied Health Professions, NHS Lanarkshire 5 years ago
Irene Barkby
Executive Director of Nursing, Midwifery & Allied Health Professions,
NHS Lanarkshire
Submitted on 18/01/2017 at 17:12
Published on Care Opinion at 21:41


picture of Irene Barkby

Thank you for the email earlier today. I hope I have been able to clarify why I asked about your current employment status and provided assurance that we will work with you to support you recieve appropriate care and services going forward.

Irene

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Nursing Professional (the patient)

Dissapointed in NHS Lanarkshire. Still awaiting a meeting to be organised.

Response from Yvonne Ross, Patient Affairs Manager, University Hospital Wishaw, NHS Lanarkshire 5 years ago
Yvonne Ross
Patient Affairs Manager, University Hospital Wishaw,
NHS Lanarkshire
Submitted on 25/01/2017 at 15:00
Published on Care Opinion at 15:34


picture of Yvonne Ross

Dear Nursing Professional

It was nice to speak to you again today. As discussed I will feedback the new information provided and be in touch with a date for the meeting.

Yvonne

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Nursing Professional (the patient)

Still awaiting this meeting in NHS Lanarkshire! Very frustrating!

Response from Andy Pender, Senior Nurse, Emergency Medicine, University Hospital Wishaw, NHS Lanarkshire 5 years ago
Andy Pender
Senior Nurse, Emergency Medicine, University Hospital Wishaw,
NHS Lanarkshire
Submitted on 01/02/2017 at 21:01
Published on Care Opinion on 02/02/2017 at 09:09


picture of Andy Pender

Dear Nursing Professionial,

I am sorry that you feel frustrated and I can appreciate this. I will ensure I speak with the Patient Affairs Manager tomorrow to ensure there is a plan in progress to support you.

Best Wishes

Andy

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Peter McCrossan, Director for Allied Health Professions, University Hospital Wishaw, NHS Lanarkshire 5 years ago
We are preparing to make a change
Peter McCrossan
Director for Allied Health Professions, University Hospital Wishaw,
NHS Lanarkshire
Submitted on 09/02/2017 at 14:29
Published on Care Opinion at 15:54


picture of Peter McCrossan

Dear nursing professional.

Many thanks for taking the time to meet yesterday morning.

We will fully consider the observations you provided and look to improve our patient back-pain pathway. We will also look to enhance our patient communications in light of the comments and suggestions you put forward. Thank you once again for your kind comments regarding the staff members you encountered.

Wishing you a speedy recovery!

Peter

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Update posted by Nursing Professional (the patient)

Hi Peter,

Thank you and your colleague for taking the time out of your busy schedule to meet with me yesterday.

I am glad that there were elements of my experience that you will be able to utilise to improve your patient back-pain pathway and communication.

thank you also for your best wishes for my recovery.

Regards

Nursing Professional

Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k