This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"I was lied to"

About: Macclesfield District General Hospital

(as the patient),

I have recently gone into Macclesfield General Hospital to have my tooth taken out. I had heard that it was not clean and I was a little nervous about going in.

After the operation I felt very uncomfortable and was informed that my tongue had been cut during the operation due to the roughness of my tooth. I then got an infection and could not eat for quite a while and I could not sleep for the pain. I was concerned about how I had caught an infection, especially as my previous two trips to this hospital resulted in me getting infections.

I was not satisfied with the explanation of why my tongue had been cut and asked my dentist for his opinion. He said that he did not feel that the tooth could have caused this. When going back to the doctor, I questioned him again about this and he then admitted that it was in fact the tube that they pushed down my throat that had caused it. They had used a different tube and apparently it has also happened to someone else.

I feel I was lied to. Why should this type of treatment go on?. I have written to the hospital to tell them about the treatment that I received and I am still waiting to hear back form them.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from 15 years ago
Submitted on 21/05/2008 at 08:47
Published on Care Opinion at 01:00

Thank you for posting your comment about your experience. We were disappointed to hear that you had written to the hospital and not received a response. We are keen to address this.

We do always respond to any issues raised, and we suggest that you contact our Customer Care Team on 01625 661449, freephone 0800 1613997 or textphone 01625 663723.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k