"new friendly Dementia Carers support group is a life line."

About: Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust / Mental Health Services for Older People – Community (County)

(as a staff member posting for a carer/relative),

Friendly, new Dementia Carers’ Support Group at Rosewood Centre is a Lifeline

After attending a Carer Information & Support Programme at the Rosewood Centre in Ollerton, the manager offered us a room on a monthly basis for the group to continue meeting. This was a wonderful opportunity, so we have carried on meeting on the first Tuesday of every month, from 10. 30 until 12. 30 The group not only feeds our knowledge as carers but provides a monthly social event with stories and lively music to look forward to which is ''live'' and performed by the Rosewood Rockers.

The group is only small but is looking to expand by inviting any similar people in our position – dementia carers and the people they are caring for. One of the aims of the group is to further our knowledge as carers, so guest speakers will be invited to give us the support to be the carers we want to be. It would be good to see the group carry on and grow in numbers.

We would like to ask if the Trust can identify guest speakers who work for the older people service to come along and chat with us as we are very keen to link into the Trust and help it change services and lives of our loved ones and also link us to other carers.

It would be good to see the group carry on and grow in numbers.

Responses

Response from Andrea Ward, General Manager , Mental Health Services for Older People, Nottinghamshire Healthcare 4 years ago
We are preparing to make a change
Andrea Ward
General Manager , Mental Health Services for Older People,
Nottinghamshire Healthcare
Submitted on 05/04/2016 at 16:16
Published on Care Opinion at 16:40


Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are very happy to support the group from older people's services with speakers and information. I'll speak to my colleagues who work in and around Rosewood this week and ask them to contact the team there to discuss this further and make arrangements to come and meet the group.

  • mallow thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too
Response from Amanda Swaithe, Activity Co-ordinator, MHSOP Bassettlaw, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust 4 years ago
Amanda Swaithe
Activity Co-ordinator, MHSOP Bassettlaw,
Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust
Submitted on 07/04/2016 at 13:28
Published on Care Opinion at 17:00


I would like to put a poster up on the Ward (B1), to inform Carers. Do you have one or are you happy for me to make one telling people all about the new group?

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Nigel Groves, Involvement and Experience Lead, Forensic Services, Involvement Team, Nottinghamshire Health care Trust 4 years ago
We are preparing to make a change
Nigel Groves
Involvement and Experience Lead, Forensic Services, Involvement Team,
Nottinghamshire Health care Trust

help get the feedback we need

Submitted on 07/04/2016 at 15:37
Published on Care Opinion at 17:00


We do have a poster for the group I will email it across to you.


I just think the responce to this posting has been wonderful and I know the group will be please to see that doing a posting can bring about change
  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Mark Griffin, Team Leader, Newark & Sherwood CMHT, Mental Health Services for Older People 4 years ago
We are preparing to make a change
Mark Griffin
Team Leader, Newark & Sherwood CMHT,
Mental Health Services for Older People
Submitted on 14/04/2016 at 11:41
Published on Care Opinion at 15:48


HI Nigel

Following our conversation last week I have now had three people within the team offer to come along to discuss our service with you at your May meeting. As a team we would like to offer support on an adhoc basis and also meet with yourself and the carers at times through the year.

Also Nigel if we could also have a poster sent over we can display this in our waiting room area.

Many Thanks.

  • mallow thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too
Response from Andrea Ward, General Manager , Mental Health Services for Older People, Nottinghamshire Healthcare 4 years ago
We have made a change
Andrea Ward
General Manager , Mental Health Services for Older People,
Nottinghamshire Healthcare
Submitted on 10/05/2016 at 11:53
Published on Care Opinion at 13:04


We've made arrangements for the older people's community team in Newark and Sherwood to attend the group on a regular basis and support them with advice and information about services. We've also been displaying the posters advertising the group on Ward B1 at Bassetlaw hospital and in the community team's waiting area.

  • mallow thinks this response is helpful
    {{helpful-1}} other {{helpful-1 == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} so too
Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k

Keyboard Shortcuts

Navigation
Shortcut Help ?
Go to Home g + h
Go to Tell Your Story g + t
Go to About Us g + a
Actions
Focus Search Box /