"B4 should talk to B11 maybe it would raise the standard.- Rotherham District General"

About: Rotherham Hospital / General surgery

(as the patient),

I went into Rotherham General in May 2007 with abdominal pain. I stayed on B4.

The doctors gave me a lot of information but this was one of the only positive things about my treatment.

The nurses were mardy and abrupt. They need better nurses who care. Cleanliness was non-existent. Bathroom was disgusting.

i was extremely embarrassed when a nurse shouted down the ward that my catheter was in. I could have strangled her. I was very angry.

When I got to B4 I got shown the bathroom and the toilet, which were dirty and you had to share them with men. I was disgusted when the nurse told me.

I was unpacking my suitcase to put my things in the bed side table and it was filthy, I had to clean it myself with wipes. I noticed that when other patients left and went home I never saw anyone cleaning the bed side cabinets, they were all dirty.

I had to ask three times for my tablets before I went home as they had forgotten to send the form to the pharmacy. I asked a nurse what was going on and she said they had two wards to run and were very short staffed. I said that's not my fault and I didn't need to know that and decided to get my tablets the next day.

I hope I never go on B4 again. I am going back for an operation next year. I hope I go to B11, the staff and nurses there are brilliant and very friendly. Ward B4 should go to see B11 work and then every ward should do the same.

More about:
Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust 16 years ago
Submitted on 11/09/2007 at 11:12

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the service you received from Rotherham Hospital. We are sorry that you had a number of concerns and would like to address each one individually.


We recognise that you felt the toilet and washing facilities were unacceptable. Results from the checks we undertake internally, and the ones that are undertaken by external assessors, are consistently good and it is Trust policy to thoroughly clean lockers when each patient is discharged. We are sorry that this did not appear to happen in your case.

Toilet Facilities

It is our plan to have separate washing areas for male and female patients in due course. However you will have noticed we do have separate toilets for male and females.


We are sorry that you had to wait for your medication, this is an area we are trying to improve upon at the moment. Work is being undertaken and this work should ensure that this situation does not happen to patients in the future.


We accept that our staff are sometimes very busy, but as one of our core values, we expect all staff to treat everyone as they would wish to be treated themselves. We will discuss your comments with the staff and apologise that you felt this was not the case during your stay.

Thank you again for your comments, it is always easier to deal with concerns as they happen, but if that isn’t possible, we always value your comments in order for us to learn and use them in order to provide a better service in future.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k