This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Lack of diabetic support at Rotherham"

About: Rotherham Hospital

(as the patient),

I've had a few recent visits to Rotherham General. Where I was treated for angina on ward A2, for a heart attack on coronary care ward and I had a bladder biopsy on sitwell ward and was treated for pneumonia in my chest on ward A3.

There were some improvements for me since Sept last year, where many problems were caused for me. I.e. ITA on recovering from aneasthetic for biopsies and hemorrhage. This lead to me needing stents fitting for my heart as I also had a heart attack.

I thought the food was pretty poor for patients, but very good in hospital canteen for visitors and staff. Some meals never arrived for me on the ward. I had food brought in mostly or was taken to canteen by family in a chair. Also, the medicines timings were not ideal, ie 20 mins before a meal.

I was sent home with what the doctor said was a virus, though blood and sputum test results were not available at time I was discharged. I knew I had a severe infection. It turned out to be pneumonia and I was readmitted the next day.

I was very disappointed also about some toilets not being usable, some even had red pull strings that did not work to call nursing staff. This even happened on B1, the emergency admissions ward. I also saw blood from drainage bottles still on the floor after 3 days.

I would like to thank Lee, from occupational therapy and all the physiotherapists. All the staff at day care were brilliant, esp Clare.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust 16 years ago
Submitted on 18/07/2007 at 17:08

Thank you for taking the time to post your opinion on the site. I am pleased that you found that there have been some improvements at the hospital since your last visit as we aim to continually improve the service we offer to patients.

I take note and am concerned that you found that some toilets were out of use and the emergency pull string was not working on EAU/B1. I can confirm that we regularly check all these facilities and it is very unfortunate that whilst you were here they were not up to scratch. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Next Response j
Previous Response k