"Anal fissure - Complete mismanagement of my..."

About: Salisbury District Hospital

Nearly 2 years after having a 2nd round of botox for a deep and very painful anal fissure I know feel its time to warn people of the factory conveyor belt procedures carried out at Salisbury. As the first round of botox did nothing for my fissure and spasming muscle I was admitted for a 2nd round of botox, however after this I ended up being admitted as an emergency 7 days after the Consultant Surgeon elected to let someone less senior carry out my botox - clearly something went wrong or the wrong area was injected as I was in hospital for 4 days on morphine and other drugs to quell the extreme pain I was in. I went for a follow-up and my excellent and sympathetic consultant was on sick leave and remained for over 18 months - the replacement consultant was just awful, no time, barely interested and made me feel I was wasting their time- although my fissure was still there they discharged me. Frankly I was not too bothered at that point as I would rather remain in pain than have someone so unprofessional/uncaring look after me. I am no better since (years on pain meds etc) and now going private for LIS and other treatment due to the NHS' woeful offering. I feel very bitter about this all and people should be aware that cramming up to 20 patients in one morning for quite invasive surgery is simply too many and mistakes will be made due the sheer overload of patients.

Story from nhs.uk


Response from Salisbury District Hospital 4 years ago
Salisbury District Hospital
Submitted on 28/04/2015 at 09:50
Published on nhs.uk on 29/04/2015 at 01:01

We are sorry to hear that your experience fell short of your expectations but grateful that you have taken the time to tell us. Please could you get in touch with our customer care team (customercare@salisbury.nhs.uk or 0800 374208) so we can talk to you about what has happened? Thank you.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful