"overnight rehydration"

About: Good Hope Hospital / Gastroenterology

(as a service user),

My first experience of severe gastroenteritis resulted in a 24 hour stay. After blood and urine tests carried out at A&e I was transferred to an isolation room where I was placed on an overnight drip at a rate of 125ml p/hour. unfortunately this noisy Hartman? electronic feed monitor needed to be plugged in to a socket on the back wall. NOT a good idea! due to constant loo visits both the monitor/feed/ and the support frame needed to be dragged into the toilet on numerous nocturnal visits to the toilet. unfortunately the power supply became dislodged from the wall and went unnoticed. this put the unit on battery power but with its constant audible bleep it proved impossible to get any sleep whatsoever. I would like to know why it was absolutely neccessary to use the machine in the first place as there was no further contact/inspection during the entire night?


Response from Good Hope Hospital

Dear Sir or Madam, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your admission to Good Hope Hospital. I am very sorry that you had such a restless night due to the constant bleeping of the machine. Could I please ask you to contact the Patient Services Team on 0121 424 0808 or via email at patientservices@heartofengland.nhs.uk in order to address your concerns. Kind regards Patient Services Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful