This is Care Opinion [siteRegion]. Did you want Care Opinion [usersRegionBasedOnIP]?

"Left feeling dismissed and rejected"

About: North Devon District Hospital / Cancer Services North Devon District Hospital / Haematology

(as the patient),

It hard enough being told you have cancer but when you leave feeling not listened to and have unanswered questions its even worse.

I was told by the consultant about my low level lymphoma and I was in shock to say the least. I did have time to ask the questions I needed to at that appointment. After some time when it had sunk in, I was able to prepare my questions for the next appointment.

Unfortunately when I went to the 2nd appointment I didn't get to see the consultant. It was another doctor who looked like they were not keen on being there and they just gave me my blood test results and seemed like they didn't seem interested.

I felt like this was a waste of time of an appointment. I've been experiencing other symptoms which I wanted to discuss and requested a scan to confirm if maybe I could have prostate cancer. I felt dismissed and rejected. I was told the NHS is on its knees and if you want a scan you will need to go private. Surely having a scan when I'm showing 4/5 symptoms is better, to diagnose early, but no just fobbed off instead.

I've been back and forth to my GP and begged for another scan, they just sent me for blood tests as not enough evidence for a scan.

I understand the stress on the NHS but I don't want other people to go through what I have had to. If they offered the scan and said I could pay for it I would, but just a plain no.

I feel the communication and empathy could have been better when informing me of my diagnosis and should have been given more opportunity to ask questions.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››

Responses

Response from Angela Morley, Service Manager - Outpatients (Northern services), Outpatient Department (Northern Services), Royal Devon University Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust 3 weeks ago
Angela Morley
Service Manager - Outpatients (Northern services), Outpatient Department (Northern Services),
Royal Devon University Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Submitted on 06/02/2024 at 15:19
Published on Care Opinion at 15:19


Hello

I am sorry for your experience. Would it be possible for you to email me on angela.morley8@nhs.net with your patient details so that I can look into this and then come back to you.

Once again apologies

Angie

Service Manager Outpatients

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Lisa Beasant, Cancer Services Support Manager Haematology/Oncology, Cancer Services, Royal Devon University Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust 3 weeks ago
Lisa Beasant
Cancer Services Support Manager Haematology/Oncology, Cancer Services,
Royal Devon University Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Submitted on 06/02/2024 at 16:46
Published on Care Opinion at 16:46


picture of Lisa Beasant

Good afternoon chackchark33,

I am also very sorry to hear your concerns in regards to your visit here at our hospital.

I echo Angie's request - if you could email her and copy me in, lisabeasant@nhs.net the 2 of us will be able to get together and review this consultation and feedback.

Sincere apologies and I will arrange some time with Angie.

Best wishes,

Lisa

Cancer Services Support Manager - Haematology and Oncology.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Pippa White, Haematology CNS (Northern Services), Cancer Services (Northern Services), Royal Devon University Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust 3 weeks ago
Pippa White
Haematology CNS (Northern Services), Cancer Services (Northern Services),
Royal Devon University Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust
Submitted on 06/02/2024 at 23:13
Published on Care Opinion at 23:13


Dear chachark33,

I am sorry to hear your concerns regarding your second haematology visit.

Please do get in contact with Lisa and Angie as I think it is important to feed back to staff.

Please also know you can contact the Haematology Nurses if you have future questions regarding your haematological condition and we will help in any way we can.

We are here Monday to Friday on 01271 314043 - Do leave a message and we can call you back.

Best wishes

Pippa White

Haematology Nurse

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Response from Paula Howells, Senior Medical Secretary (Northern Services), Urology Team (Northern Services), Royal Devon University Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust 3 weeks ago
Paula Howells
Senior Medical Secretary (Northern Services), Urology Team (Northern Services),
Royal Devon University Healthcare NHS Foundation Trust

I have worked in the NHS for over 35 years as a senior Medical Secretary in various specialties. I currently work in the Urology Department providing PA services to the clinical team.

Submitted on 08/02/2024 at 09:48
Published on Care Opinion at 09:48


picture of Paula Howells

Dear chachark33

Thank you for your feedback. I am extremely sorry that feel you were not listened to and your questions were not answered. Please reach out and contact my colleagues who have left a reply to you. I can only specifically help you with any Urology queries and if you felt that was helpful please contact me on paula.howells@nhs.net.

I do hope you can find some resolution to your queries and may I take this opportunity of wishing you well for your forthcoming treatment.

Kind regards

Paula

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
Opinions
Next Response j
Previous Response k