"Administration staff are very dishonest and..."

About: Wexham Park Hospital

Anything else?

My mother who was an overseas visitor had to be taken to A&E at wexham park. Later she was taken to another ward without staff explaining to her that she will incur charges if she wants to carry on with the treatment. Overseas patients manager visited my mother early in the morning and told her that they need to discuss about the charges with her and since she doesn't speak english they told her that they will come back later so get someone who speak english. Later on I went to Hospital along with my other 2 brothers and met this person who told us that if we want to go ahead with further treatment then there will be charges or we may leave now then in this case she is not liable to pay anything. we said wait let us consult the doctor if they advice us to take her if it is safe so then we will leave otherwise we will go ahead with her further treatment and will pay from this stage.

So we seek advice from the doctor and consultant on duty who said that she is safe to go home.

So we left the hospital, later on after 3 months we got a bill of £536 to pay for her stay in the hospital. I was completely shocked on this and rang the Overseas patients manager and asked them why they send this invoice for? and they said because my mother was admitted in the ward from A&E and I said to them that you told me in the presence of my other brothers that if she leaves now then there are no charges so why are you billing her for?

Upon this they said I never said this and she will have to pay from the time she was taken to the ward.

I was completely shocked and annoyed with the fact that now you see these professionals mislead patients over money.

Made a complaint to WP patient relations manager but they did not address my complaint as whole rather picked up one point and refused the complaint that they told us that there will be charges.

Misleading and dishonest administration. Have no trust in these guys at all.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Wexham Park Hospital

We are sorry that you are unhappy with the invoice that you received in relation to your mother's care. If you are unhappy with the response that you have received to your complaint, please advise the Patient Relations team of your comments and we will review your complaint.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story