"Patient Care"

About: Queen's Hospital, Burton Upon Trent

Anything else?

I was extremely satisfied with an excellent hip replacement and all the doctoring.

However I found the care in ward 19 variable, good in the morning, fair in the evening and very disappointing on the night shift.

Blood pressure/temperature/administering drugs/meals/drinks duties were always performed well and on time .

However they almost always resulted in my own resources- water bottle, glasses, reading, snacks - on the tables/cabinets being moved away from the bed and inaccessible to me without a callout. When water bottles/water jugs were cleared they were often not replaced until requested. Even then requests which were not the responsibility of the responder were not always passed on to the relevant operator.

Generally I felt no single person was empowered to help/advise me what was going on with regard to the timing of physio/occupational therapist etc visits so that I could arrange my own visitors to fit in.

When I was moved to ward 30 the coordination was poor with no bed/ high chair immediately available and no shower facility accessible without retuning to ward 19.

In short doctoring great but care variable and weakly coordinated.

Basically I did not feel 'owned' by anyone and when one is stranded in bed relying totally on others for care this is important.

Nevertheless I am extremely grateful for a successful outcome and hope these comments are veiwed as construcive.

Many thanks

Rob yates

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Queen's Hospital, Burton Upon Trent

Thank you very much for your comments about your recent experience at Queen's Hospital which are indeed welcomed as constructive criticism.

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to give your feedback as it does help us to review what we do and how we do it and make improvements.

We are very pleased to hear that you were happy with the surgery you received and the care from doctors and that your operation had a positive outcome for you.

We are sorry to hear that your experience on the wards was mixed and that you did experience some difficulties and inconvenience.

Your comments regarding care on the wards will be relayed to the staff concerned and their managers to look at what we can do to improve co-ordination and ownership in the future.

Thank you again for commenting and giving us the opportunity to improve the patient experience at Queen's Hospital, Burton.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story