"Tired of waiting 6 hours!"

About: Medway Maritime Hospital

Anything else?

I attended medway hospital at 12.30 on the 1/3/13.was seen by a triage nurse only to be ignore at what i was trying to tell her & was sent out to wait to be booked in,whilst waiting for the receptionist who sat there chating & gigiling with her co worker whilst loudly chewing gum with an attitude! i eventually got called to be booked in (an hour later) as i gave information about dob etc i was told that it was wrong,the infomation they gave me back was over 10 years out of date,( i have had several visits to the hospital in previous months in which i have updated my address,dob,phone no & next of kin etc) only to find out that they havent bothered to update it at all!!!!...whilst sitting in the waiting room a lady was sick all over the floor by the toilets,approx 12.45,after many drs,nurses & various staff had walked by the vomit.we & a few other members of the public complained & was told to move away from the vomit if we didnt like it,that was by the gum chewing receptionist. After several more complaints & 2hours later 2 cleaners turned up to clean it up.thats 2hrs of sitting in a vomit & smelly filled waiting area! i then need to go to the gents loo & guess what? yes you got it,the floor was covered in vomit from the drunks & druggies that had nothing better to do than was drs & nurses time....i am an insulin diabetic & when to the receptionist to ask how long it was going to be before i got seen,her reply was youve only been here 2hrs & 39 mins,i had actually been there for 3hs & 39 mins but it took the receptionist an hour to book me in! i told her i need to test my levels as i was feeling queer she ask why i didnt bring my meter with me & i said i wasnt expecting to be kept waiting for so long! she said what do you expect this is a&e! i insisted that i have my levels checked,which a nurse did & my reading was 5.2 & i was told that thats perfectly normal & to go & sit down to which i replied that 5.2 is not normal for me & that i was going into a hypo,the nurse said to me "well go & get something to eat & drink then" she wasnt even aware of what i was in a&e for,that could have caused a major problem if i was going to have surgery! anyway after having an xray & seeing a dr who couldnt speak "proper" english, i was sent home with out any advice.but that was nearly 7 hrs from when i got there.now ive forgotton what point i was trying to make,well i do have the beginings of dementure,neroapathy,mini stroke,angina,on crutches due to severe back injury,copd,diabeties on insulin,metformin,victozia,oh i have to inject 5 times a day,also suffer from depression (wonders why lol ) had cancer,which i have been given the all clear after treatment.have,high blood pressure & cholesterol & a heart mumour.think thats all thats wrong with me....im 49 & was spoken to like i was at pre school the end.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Medway Maritime Hospital

I am sorry to hear that during your recent visit to the Emergency Department, the standards were not satisfactory and certainly below those that we aim to deliver. I am also concerned to hear that you felt you were ignored and had to wait in an unpleasant environment on the day.

Please do get in touch with me so I can look into your care and obtain a few more details from you, so we can address the concerns you have raised.

You can contact me on 01634 830000 x3874.

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful

Updates, changes and questions related to this story