"Uncaring and frankly appalling treatment"

Anything else?

My mother in law who is 85 suffered a fall and needed a new hip. While the operation was fine they discharged her from rehab far too early and sent her back to her bungalow where she lives alone despite her being still very frail. She fell again within hours and was taken back to the PRUH but once again sent home although she now cannot even get out of bed to use the commode. They just provided her with some nappies - which she cannot get into and told her someone would come and check on her at around 10pm six hour later! So much for the caring NHS! Of course there is no-one to talk to about this awful situation as it is now the weekend.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Princess Royal University Hospital

I am extremely sorry about your mother-in-law's poor experience at the Trust. I hope that you have now spoken to someone at the Trust about this - please contact our PALs department on Tel: 01689 863252 Email: slh-tr.br-pals@nhs.net I have also passed your comment on to our senior management on the site who will try to identify your mother in law from the information you have provided and investigate what has happened.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful