"Good doctors let down by nurses"

About: Freeman Hospital

Anything else?

I was very impressed with the doctors at all levels, however as in any profession there is good and bad, in this instance this applies to the nurses, some of them were excellent and others very poor. I was prescribed two different types of IV antibiotics, several of these doses were missed completely or up to six hours late being administered. Great doctors let down by some nurses

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Freeman Hospital

Thank you for posting your feedback on NHS Choices. We are very glad that you were happy with the care delivered to you by our Surgical Team however we are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations in regard to the nursing care delivered.

The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust has rigorous policies in place to support the safe administration of injectable medicines. It is clearly unacceptable for any form of treatment to be delayed and apologise unreservedly that this was your experience.

Unfortunately as your comment has been posted anonymously we are unable to investigate your concerns fully in order to understand where and how this happened. It would be most helpful if you could contact Matron Henaghan, Surgical Services or Mr Paul Anderson, Patient Relations Manager via 0191 233 6161. May I take the opportunity to thank you, once again, for your feedback and in anticipation of further discussion about your concerns.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful