"Not happy"

About: City Hospital (Birmingham)

Anything else?

Patient felt that he was pushed out the hospital from ward D15 without discharge papers or without seeing a doctor to confirm discharge. Patient requested transport to go home but was told transpot was fully book and was advised to call family member to take patient home. The patient was supplied with a commod chair and frame to assist with walking, and feels that the ambulance is far less stressful to travel with the commod and frame, this is very difficult to put into a domsetic vehicle. Patient is 82 years old and felt let down by service, patient also called hospital about discgharge papers and found the hospital had said they were offering intern bed which he recollects did not happen.

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from City Hospital

Thank you for your comment. I am sorry to hear that you have concerns about discharge arrangements. We are improving our discharge planning arrangements to make sure that we better meet the needs of patients. Unfortunately we cannot offer an ambulance to all patients. If you want me to look into this further please email me on mikesharon@nhs.net. Mike Sharon Acting Chief Executive

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful