"80% Quality of Care, 100% Consulant care, an..."

About: Chelsea & Westminster Hospital

What I liked

After having my first operation, I was very pleased at the Consultants and the Nurses and the Physio, all where extremely kind towards me and gave me all the assistance I needed, to have a pleasant stay.

I did enjoy the Hospital food.

The Quality of Care was rated by myself at 70%.

What could be improved

I was sent home and no follow up at all for 10 days. I had stitches in and noone followed up with an appointment to have these taken out, I ended up chasing this up myself. By calling the Hospital, but it was an answerphone. Then the other dept I tried had a waiting line of 9 persons, this was poor.

My second point is that not even my local surgery called me to follow up to see how I was feeling, after they received a discharge letter from the Hospital.

Again there care was not there. Poor show again.

Thirdly, the ward I was in there was bits of plaster on the floor and cotton wool ends, it did not seem that clean, and when I left there was finally a cleaner in. Thats not a good impression.

Fouth point, the food was good, but not very warm.

Anything else?


The Physio Dept was great they where on the ball all the time, gave the correct advice and follow up, they where terrific towards me and my care.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Sian Nelson, Membership and Engagement Manager, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Dear Squirrell,

I would like to thank you for your feedback and apologise to respond two months later - we have only just subscribed to Patient Opinion so will continue to closely monitor patient feedback.

It is good to hear that you were satisfied with the staff involved in your care. However, it seems there are some issues related to follow up of your care, and the ward environment. I hope that the follow up issues have been resolved or please let us know if we can help further by contacting PALS: pals@chelwest.nhs.uk or tel: 020 3315 6727.

I am not sure which ward you stayed on but will pass the comments back to the facilities manager so they can be aware.

Best wishes

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful