"My daughter's poor care at Stirling minor injuries unit"

About: Stirling Community Hospital / Minor injuries unit

(as a relative),

Took my daughter there in January as she had damaged ankle, swollen, painful and not able to stand on it. Wait was OK - approx an hour, only one other patient there, but had concerns about x ray and ability of staff to review.

The nurse came with result and said not broken and could weight bear as able. Only when questioned did she admit there was a break where tendon had pulled, but should heal.

No painkillers given when requested and unable to buy any as no shops open, the nurse was aware my daughter only had one dose of paracetamol left. Nurse was unable to give me info of any emergency pharmacy. My daughter was dismissed, left hopping assisted by me as nurse stated could not provide any crutches or sticks which were required.

I feel this was a very poor standard of care, aware that the patient was in pain and unable to mobilise but not providing assistance. Initially saying xray results good with no break then telling us a different story when questioned.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from NHS Forth Valley

Sorry for the delay in responding, this was because we had a period of time where we were not using the Patient Opinion facility.

I have forwarded your posting to the relevant department and await any feedback from them. In the meantime I would like to say that

there are things to learn from your daughters experience, thanks for brining them to our attention. I hope your daughter has made a full recovery.


  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Arlian Mallis, Person Centred Health and Care Co-ordinator, Department of Nursing, NHS Forth Valley

I have discussed your posting with the team, who are very upset that this has been your experience.

The Charge Nurse from the service has asked if we could explore this further as none of the care you describe is acceptable.

I would be grateful if you would contact me directly on 07827820353 so we can learn from this experience, and ensure that appropriate changes can be implemented.

I look forward to speaking with you directly

Many Thanks

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful