"poor really poor"

About: Hythe Hospital

What could be improved

i had my initial assessmebt appointment at the end of March 20912. at this point i was told to book an MDA which i did the following week.

since then i have recieved no crespondence regarding this appointment. i have left numerous messages (as you can never call through and speak to anyone) and sent an email. i finallty recieved a call from them advising that the person responsible for the appointments had been unavailable and to bear with the as they are bvery busy.

we are now well into September. it has been over 5 months since i booked the appointment and i am still waiting. i was shocked to have to wait over three months to get my initial assessment but to then wait another 5 (so far) for my follow up appointment is really unacceptable. for a service who talk constantly in their 'taster session' about understanding the needs of people in chrinic pain this is really poor form

Max Simes

initial refferal 09/01/2012 still waiting for 2nd appointment

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Hythe Hospital

Thank you very much for providing your feedback regarding Southern Health NHS Foundations Trust’s Pain Service. I am sorry that you have had such difficulties when trying to book an appointment and that you have had to endure such a lengthy wait. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly so that I can take some further details from you and establish both what has happened and when your appointment will be.

Please either contact me on 01590 663089 or via hp-tr.Complaints@nhs.net at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards

Ben Prior

Complaints and PALS Officer

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful