About: Leighton Hospital

What I liked

We were booked onto a parenting class by the community midwife at Leighton. Us and 7 other couples attended an evening session only to wait nearly an hour and no one turned up to take the class....complete waste of time

What could be improved

Ensure that people are informed if classes are going to be cancelled

More about:

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Leighton Hospital

I would like to sincerely apologise for the experience you had of the parent education services on 16th August . I would like to reassure you that the error that occurred on this occasion will not occur again. We endeavour not to cancel classes unless in extreme unavoidable circumstances, in which case it is usual practice to inform all women in the event of a cancellation. However, unfortunately on this occasion this was not possible. All women who attended that particular class were contacted the following day by the parent education midwife and offered an alternate group session, or one to one session if the alternate date was not appropriate. We strive to provide excellent parent education services and hope that you were booked onto a following session and found the experience to be positive. If you have not booked onto a class, could I please encourage you to contact the parent education lead on 01270 273451 to discuss how we can assist you further.

Pam Cornwall, Head of Midwifery

  • {{helpful}} of {{total()}} people think this response is helpful