"Unprofessional and very worrying!"

About: Royal Lancaster Infirmary

What I liked

I don't think I would like to use a&e at the RLI. I found the staff to be very unprofessional and I felt very belittled. I was made to wait in a waiting room for 2 hours feeling sick and in a lot of pain. No one came to reassure me or tell me how long I would have to wait. I felt completely ignored to the point that I just ended up walking out. This is really worrying for me because I have bipolar disorder and 2 children, I now feel that if anything was ever wrong with any of us I would be too scared to seek help.

What could be improved

Just reassurance of waiting time and to be talked to better.

Story from NHS Choices

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Royal Lancaster Infirmary

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We are sorry to receive your comments about your treatment in the Emergency Department and that parts of our service did not meet your expectations. A copy of your comments will be passed onto relevant staff including the Director of Nursing and the Medical Director. As you will appreciate we only have minimal details regarding your visit, and do not know what other pressures the department may have been facing at this time, however, we would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns in further detail.

We take all comments about our services seriously and we would like to investigate this matter further. We would therefore be grateful if you could please contact our Customer Service Manager so that we can discuss your concerns in greater detail. They can be contacted via our Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) on 01539 795 497.

Should you wish to make a complaint then you can do so by writing to our Chief Executive at: Trust Headquarters, Westmorland General Hospital, Burton Road, Kendal, LA9 7RG. The Complaints Team and the Chief Executive can be contacted at the address indicated above or by ringing 01539 795 332. More information can be found on our website: http://www.uhmb.nhs.uk

We place great value in the fact that local people continue to choose our hospitals and we openly encourage patients and visitors to give us their feedback. This will enable us to continually improve the services we offer and the experience our patients have whilst in our hospitals.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful