"Unhappy with my knee care at Tameside"

About: Tameside General Hospital / Trauma and orthopaedics

(as the patient),

Since being 15 years old I have suffered from a knee problem.

I dislocated it at 15 and it was put in plaster cast and it has never been right since. I suffered with dislocations alot and was referred to Tameside hospital numerous times from the age of 15 to 20, between going to physiotherapists which I found completely pointless as all they gave me was a sheet of paper. I ended up having an operation.

I had the operation last year due to a dislocation and fracture I was told that a small bone was broken off causing my knee to lock and grind. I was later informed that they would remove the bone and look at the knee to assess what sort of treatment I would need. I woke from the operation to be told they had found the small bone but later dropped it and then could not find it again.

As you can imagine I was not happy. Not only was this a recovery of around 8 weeks (which I had to take off work) but was completely unsuccessful as well. I was then told in my post-op a couple of days later, that I shouldn't suffer from knee problems again?

Around 8 months after my knee problems came back, I found myself yet again having to take time of work as I was unable to put any weight on my left knee. I went back to my GP who referred me back to a consultant one week later. I saw the consultant and he told me I had been referred to the wrong person and he couldn't help me (after waiting 4 hours to see him at Tameside hospital).

I then was re-referred about 6 weeks after to another consultant. Previous to this I had seen 2 consultants who promised me a ligament reconstruction operation that would solve my problems allowing me at 21 to get on with my life. I went to see the consultant (to what I was told was a post-op) and he told me that there will be no operation as it wouldn't be successful and its 'just one of lifes things' and referred me back to a physiotherapist.

Obviously I was not only extremely upset and emotional, I was also fuming about the way in general, I as a patient at Tameside hospital have been treated I think the whole thing has done nothing but mess me around.

I was promised an operation that would solve my problems before I get married next year which just seems completely untrue.

Over all I feel like nobody has really cared about my situation (which I now have to just deal with) and I think the patient care is non-existent.

I am now looking further for a second opinion.

Do you have a similar story to tell? Tell your story & make a difference ››


Response from Peter Denton, LINk Manager, Tameside LINk

picture of Peter Denton

Hi Lauren,

Tameside LINk (Local involvement Network) is independent of the NHS and social services. We are funded to help health and care organisations to improve by listening to the collective experiences of local people.

I am very sorry to hear about your problems and although we do not get involved in individual cases, I do hope you manage to resolve things to your satisfaction quickly. I don't know whether or not you have contacted PALS (the Patient Advice and Liasion Service) at the hospital, the hospital's Complaints department or ICAS (the Independent Complaints Advocacy Service). If you wish to take this further, I am sure they would be able to provide useful information and advice. They can all be found by searching on the Internet.

The hospital has recently appointed a new Director of Nursing. His predecessor used to respond regularly to posts on Patient Opinion - hopefully he too will respond shortly.

In terms of your experience, the LINk is always collecting patient stories so that we can get a clear picture of how well care is being delivered. This gives us an opportunity to challenge the hospital if we see patterns of poor practice emerging, as well as recognising where people say the hospital is performing well. Since you have posted this on a public website, we assume that you are happy for us to use your story to help our work. If you would rather we didn't do this, please e-mail TamesideLINk@t3sc.org to let us know.

Wishing you all the best with your knee and hoping you have a great wedding next year.

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful