"EPU"

About: Queen Elizabeth Hospital / Maternity

I was referred following symptoms of a threatened m/c. I just wanted reassurance or to know if pregnancy was still viable. You can imagine it is a very anxious time especially if you have m/c before and the worst thing is the waiting not knowing and letting the worry eat into you. Well after waiting 5 hours and being told I might not get seen - I. Wasn’t seen. Even though I was warned beforehand, there must be a better system for scan appointments rather than allow someone who is very anxious, suffering from morning sickness to wait 5 hours with a full bladder before being told to come back tomorrow where I ‘might’ get seen.

I feel the NHS don’t really care, at the end of the day, if it’s a early pregnancy it’s easier for them to let me go home and possibly m/c than waste their resources. This sounds blunt and harsh but it is exactly how I feel. Now I have to take another day off work and possibly wait another 5 hours (or more) and I might not even get seen again! I’m sure other departments work fine but with EPU, I have never been so disappointed with the system.

Story from nhs.uk

Responses

Response from Queen Elizabeth Hospital

We are very sorry to hear you had a negative experience when attending our EPAU service at Queen Elizabeth Hospital in June.

However, we would encourage you to contact PALS, pals.qeht@nhs.net so we are able to fully investigate and they will send this to the senior nurse who manages the EPAU services cross site who will be more than happy to speak with you.

Kind regards

Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful

Response from Rachel Sugarman, Patient Experience Manager, Lewisham and Greenwich NHS Trust

We are very sorry to hear you had a negative experience when attending our EPAU service at Queen Elizabeth Hospital in June.
However, we would encourage you to contact PALS, pals.qeht@nhs.net so we are able to fully investigate and they will send this to the senior nurse who manages the EPAU services cross site who will be more than happy to speak with you.

Kind regards

Patient Experience Team

  • {{helpful}} {{helpful == 1 ? "person thinks" : "people think"}} this response is helpful
;